The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 08, 2010, 10:00am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
Really? So if you have one player "shift," set for less than a second, and the ball is snapped, you have no foul?
Do you meant if you have one player go in motion (one player cannot shift)? He didn't say you'd have no foul - you'd have illegal motion.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 08, 2010, 10:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,153
ILLEGAL MOTION, SHIFT
7.2.7 SITUATION: The quarterback by voice command has signaled his teammates
to assume a set position while he is standing upright behind the center.
The quarterback steps forward and places his hands under the center to receive
the snap: (a) at the instant the snap is made; or (b) which is made after he is
motionless, but prior to one second having elapsed; or (c) which is made after he
is motionless for one second; or (d) which is made after he is motionless for one
second, but while he is stepping backward with one foot as the snap is made.
RULING: In (a), it is illegal motion. In (b), it is an illegal shift. In (c), it is legal. In
(d), it is legal unless a teammate is also in motion at the snap. COMMENT: If the
quarterback drops his hands under the snapper without stepping forward, it is a
shift and not motion. (2-39; 7-2-6)
__________________
When my time on earth is gone, and my activities here are passed, I want they bury me upside down, and my critics can kiss my azz!
Bobby Knight
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 08, 2010, 10:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigjohn View Post
ILLEGAL MOTION, SHIFT
7.2.7 SITUATION: The quarterback by voice command has signaled his teammates
to assume a set position while he is standing upright behind the center.
The quarterback steps forward and places his hands under the center to receive
the snap: (a) at the instant the snap is made; or (b) which is made after he is
motionless, but prior to one second having elapsed; or (c) which is made after he
is motionless for one second; or (d) which is made after he is motionless for one
second, but while he is stepping backward with one foot as the snap is made.
RULING: In (a), it is illegal motion. In (b), it is an illegal shift. In (c), it is legal. In
(d), it is legal unless a teammate is also in motion at the snap. COMMENT: If the
quarterback drops his hands under the snapper without stepping forward, it is a
shift and not motion. (2-39; 7-2-6)
Are you making a point, or just copying stuff?

There is no rule 7.2.7 nor AR 7.2.7.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 08, 2010, 11:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
Are you making a point, or just copying stuff?

There is no rule 7.2.7 nor AR 7.2.7.
He quoted a NF case play to answer an NCAA question.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 08, 2010, 11:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,153
Pretty sure the guy who posted about the jv game uses fed rules.


I was answering him and adding what the NFHS rules are on this.
I know it (illegal shift on QB) seldom gets called.
__________________
When my time on earth is gone, and my activities here are passed, I want they bury me upside down, and my critics can kiss my azz!
Bobby Knight
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 08, 2010, 11:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Welpe posted a point about NCAA in post #10, and the next 3 posts addressed that issue. You then inserted a NF case play as if it were part of that conversation, prompting mbcrowder's question.

Illegal shift is rarely called on QB's because they hardly ever shift illegally. Of course, your "thing" is that officials don't throw enough flags, so I don't expect this point to have much impact.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 08, 2010, 12:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigjohn View Post
Pretty sure the guy who posted about the jv game uses fed rules.


I was answering him and adding what the NFHS rules are on this.
I know it (illegal shift on QB) seldom gets called.
So, in a post about an NCAA game amid questions about NCAA rules, a single poster mentioned that this happened to him in a FED game, in post 6. You answer him in post 9. Then for some reason you are responding to him again, hours later?

Face it - you just weren't paying attention. Happens to everyone. "oops - my bad" would have gone over much better than rolling your eyes at us.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 08, 2010, 01:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
Face it - you just weren't paying attention. Happens to everyone. "oops - my bad" would have gone over much better than rolling your eyes at us.
Maybe we'll be treated to claims that NCAA officials don't have enough flags either.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 10, 2010, 09:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 60
Ok I know I've got to be over thinking this. Help me out please.

Offensive players cannot move once they put their hands on the ground they are "married" to the ground.

Players on the end of the line can move after placing a hand on the ground. Players declared as backs can also move.

If a player is in motion at the snap he must be 5 yards behind the LOS.

A player may not move perpendicular to the LOS (Wouldn't this be a false start and not IM though? How could you not blow a movement toward the LOS dead?

If a player in the backfield is set and shuffles a little to the left/right is this act legal?

Is a player set if they are standing motionless and picking their nose?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 10, 2010, 10:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by Official View Post
Ok I know I've got to be over thinking this. Help me out please.

Offensive players cannot move once they put their hands on the ground they are "married" to the ground.
Once an interior linemen places his hand on or near the ground, he can't lift it.

Quote:
If a player is in motion at the snap he must be 5 yards behind the LOS.
No. If he's not a back and goes in motion, he must be at least 5 yards behind to LOS.

Quote:
A player may not move perpendicular to the LOS (Wouldn't this be a false start and not IM though? How could you not blow a movement toward the LOS dead?
He can't be moving toward the LOS when the ball is snapped.

Quote:
If a player in the backfield is set and shuffles a little to the left/right is this act legal?
Yes.

Quote:
Is a player set if they are standing motionless and picking their nose?
There's no requirement that the player be motionless. He just has to be set and not making any movement that simulates action at the snap.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 10, 2010, 10:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 60
thanks I truly appreciate it.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 11, 2010, 11:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,920
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef View Post
If he's not a back and goes in motion, he must be at least 5 yards behind to LOS.
I think you have to substitute the word "is" for "goes" above. Consider a player who's set just barely in the backfield and goes in motion parallel to the LOS. Suppose that at the snap the closest OL to him has body parts closer to his team's end line than some of his own body parts. He may have been a back when he went in motion, but by getting near that player is no longer a back.

But I doubt any of you would give any more than a warning on this one. Seems if the player is already well along his way in motion, he's not going to confuse the defense as to whether he's on the line or in the backfield, so I think the spirit of the rule is served without att'n to that detail.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 16, 2010, 01:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef View Post
There's no requirement that the player be motionless. He just has to be set and not making any movement that simulates action at the snap.
I found this...

After a huddle or shift all 11 players of A shall come to an absolute stop and shall remain stationary simultaneously without movement of hands, feet, head, or body for at least one second before the snap (7-2-6).
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 11, 2010, 09:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by Official View Post
A player may not move perpendicular to the LOS (Wouldn't this be a false start and not IM though? How could you not blow a movement toward the LOS dead?
So... you've never seen an RB line up, and then go in motion a couple of steps forward first, and then out to the side? Happens all the time, and not IM or False Start - totally legal as long as they are not moving forward AT THE SNAP, and did not simulate the start of the play when he went in motion.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 11, 2010, 10:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,593
Quote:
Originally Posted by Official View Post
Ok I know I've got to be over thinking this. Help me out please.
Players declared as backs can also move.

A player may not move perpendicular to the LOS (Wouldn't this be a false start and not IM though? How could you not blow a movement toward the LOS dead?

If a player in the backfield is set and shuffles a little to the left/right is this act legal?

Is a player set if they are standing motionless and picking their nose?
Unfortunately (or fortunately) there are no absolutes. Example; a school here uses "motion" a lot. Usually a back, who has been clearly set, will rise deliberately, take one step forward than pivot and go in motion one way or the other. No problem, works well.

At certain times, late in the game, 3 yards to go for an important 1st down, etc. that sequence is repeated with one difference. The back, still clearly set, EXPLODES forward for one step, pivots and goes in motion. No doubt in my mind the intent is to draw the Defense into the NZ for a cheap 5 yard penalty.

If the Defense bites, I'll flag the offense and that sequence will not be repeated. If the defense doesn't bite, I'll decide whether to flag the offense or whisper in the back's ear, after the play, that if he draws the defense into the NZ, I'm going to flag him. Usually that also stops that sequence from being repeated.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WR - false start vs. illegal motion vs. illegal shift stegenref Football 25 Sat Oct 02, 2010 09:21pm
illegal shift or illegal motion verticalStripes Football 20 Wed Oct 01, 2008 12:34pm
Mixed Interp: Illegal Motion / Shift ljudge Football 7 Mon Nov 14, 2005 11:12am
Motion, shift or nothing schwinn Football 20 Wed Nov 02, 2005 02:20pm
Illegal Motion or Illegal Shift Simbio Football 11 Fri Oct 31, 2003 08:50pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:35pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1