The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 04, 2010, 09:53pm
MRH MRH is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 61
Fair Catch or not?

R1 is preparing to catch a scrimmage kick in flight by K. K1 begins his charge to contact R1. In the brief moment before the catch R1 signals for a fair catch, makes the catch and is then contacted by K1. Since the fair catch signal was given after K1 began his charge does a personal foul occur?

In other words, is there any such thing as a fair catch signal being given too late?

I'm not finding anything in the NFHS book to support NOT calling a foul.

Primarily looking for the NFHS ruling but would like to know NCAA as well.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 04, 2010, 10:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
As long as he gives a legal signal before the catch, he can't be hit.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 05, 2010, 08:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Also, if K is so close that he hinders R's opportunity to catch the kick, you might have KCI, regardless of whether R signals for a fair catch.

The idea of K "beginning his charge" is not rule-book language. R is to have an unmolested opportunity to catch the kick, and -- as BBR already noted -- if he signals fair catch he is not to be hit.

By rule it is possible to signal too late, namely if the runner signals after the kick has been caught or recovered (illegal), or any R signals after the kick has been muffed or grounded (invalid). Otherwise the signal is valid.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 05, 2010, 11:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 178
I'm not advocating the lighting up of punt returners, but if the receiver gives a quickie, single wave a half a second before the ball gets there, and Team A contacts the receiver (non-flagrant) just after the ball gets there, then I don't see how the signaler can have post-touching protection.

"Begins his charge" isn't in the book. But I see the point. The signal needs to be given in time for Team A to see it and react in time.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 05, 2010, 11:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Watertown, SD
Posts: 56
Send a message via Skype™ to jemiller
I think that either you have KCI or contacting R after a valid fair catch signal. One or the other if the timing was so close to the catch. JIM
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 05, 2010, 12:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by chymechowder View Post
I'm not advocating the lighting up of punt returners, but if the receiver gives a quickie, single wave a half a second before the ball gets there, and Team A contacts the receiver (non-flagrant) just after the ball gets there, then I don't see how the signaler can have post-touching protection.

"Begins his charge" isn't in the book. But I see the point. The signal needs to be given in time for Team A to see it and react in time.
There is no basis in the rules for this restriction on R's right to a fair catch.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 05, 2010, 01:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 178
Agreed. Invalid is only defined as a signal given after the catch or after the ball hits the ground.

When I said "The signal needs to be given," what I meant was that I think the signal should be given in time for Team A to recognize it and react accordingly.

If the receiver gives a late, ambiguous signal just before the catch--are you saying that you'd still flag Team A for contacting the receiver?

Again, I'm not talking about a hit that occurs a millisecond after the ball gets there. Those hits are, practically speaking, simultaneous, and should be fouls whether or not a signal is given.

But I'm talking about the plays where the receiver catches it (no signal given). A second later Team A hits him. Not a flagrant hit. Not close enough to the catch that there's KCI. A good clean "bang-pause-bang" play. Are you saying that in these cases if the receiver throws out a mini-wave as he's putting his hands up for the catch, you've got a flag for hitting a signaller?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fair catch Refsmitty Football 5 Mon Oct 06, 2008 04:41pm
Fair catch or not? Nyjets Football 3 Thu Sep 07, 2006 02:20pm
Fair catch or not phansen Football 1 Thu Aug 24, 2006 08:34pm
Fair Catch runningwild Football 8 Thu Sep 02, 2004 09:06am
Try after fair catch lawref Football 21 Wed Sep 17, 2003 03:48pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:34pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1