| 
			
			 
			
				Tue Oct 05, 2010, 12:21pm
			
			
			
		 | 
	| 
		
			
			| Official Forum Member |  | 
					Join Date: Jul 2004 Location: NE Ohio 
						Posts: 7,620
					      |  | 
	
	| 
			
			
	Quote: 
	
		| 
					Originally Posted by chymechowder  I'm not advocating the lighting up of punt returners, but if the receiver gives a quickie, single wave a half a second before the ball gets there, and Team A contacts the receiver (non-flagrant) just after the ball gets there, then I don't see how the signaler can have post-touching protection.
 "Begins his charge" isn't in the book. But I see the point. The signal needs to be given in time for Team A to see it and react in time.
 |  There is no basis in the rules for this restriction on R's right to a fair catch.
		 
				__________________Cheers,
 mb
 |