View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 05, 2010, 08:51am
mbyron mbyron is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Also, if K is so close that he hinders R's opportunity to catch the kick, you might have KCI, regardless of whether R signals for a fair catch.

The idea of K "beginning his charge" is not rule-book language. R is to have an unmolested opportunity to catch the kick, and -- as BBR already noted -- if he signals fair catch he is not to be hit.

By rule it is possible to signal too late, namely if the runner signals after the kick has been caught or recovered (illegal), or any R signals after the kick has been muffed or grounded (invalid). Otherwise the signal is valid.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote