The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 05, 2010, 11:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 178
I'm not advocating the lighting up of punt returners, but if the receiver gives a quickie, single wave a half a second before the ball gets there, and Team A contacts the receiver (non-flagrant) just after the ball gets there, then I don't see how the signaler can have post-touching protection.

"Begins his charge" isn't in the book. But I see the point. The signal needs to be given in time for Team A to see it and react in time.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 05, 2010, 11:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Watertown, SD
Posts: 56
Send a message via Skype™ to jemiller
I think that either you have KCI or contacting R after a valid fair catch signal. One or the other if the timing was so close to the catch. JIM
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 05, 2010, 12:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by chymechowder View Post
I'm not advocating the lighting up of punt returners, but if the receiver gives a quickie, single wave a half a second before the ball gets there, and Team A contacts the receiver (non-flagrant) just after the ball gets there, then I don't see how the signaler can have post-touching protection.

"Begins his charge" isn't in the book. But I see the point. The signal needs to be given in time for Team A to see it and react in time.
There is no basis in the rules for this restriction on R's right to a fair catch.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 05, 2010, 01:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 178
Agreed. Invalid is only defined as a signal given after the catch or after the ball hits the ground.

When I said "The signal needs to be given," what I meant was that I think the signal should be given in time for Team A to recognize it and react accordingly.

If the receiver gives a late, ambiguous signal just before the catch--are you saying that you'd still flag Team A for contacting the receiver?

Again, I'm not talking about a hit that occurs a millisecond after the ball gets there. Those hits are, practically speaking, simultaneous, and should be fouls whether or not a signal is given.

But I'm talking about the plays where the receiver catches it (no signal given). A second later Team A hits him. Not a flagrant hit. Not close enough to the catch that there's KCI. A good clean "bang-pause-bang" play. Are you saying that in these cases if the receiver throws out a mini-wave as he's putting his hands up for the catch, you've got a flag for hitting a signaller?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 05, 2010, 02:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by chymechowder View Post
But I'm talking about the plays where the receiver catches it (no signal given). A second later Team A hits him. Not a flagrant hit. Not close enough to the catch that there's KCI. A good clean "bang-pause-bang" play. Are you saying that in these cases if the receiver throws out a mini-wave as he's putting his hands up for the catch, you've got a flag for hitting a signaller?

If it's a legal signal, yes, I have a flag. As mbyron said, there is no time frame given, therefore, you can't create one because you "think" there should be one.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 05, 2010, 02:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 178
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
There is no basis in the rules for this restriction on R's right to a fair catch.
Actually there is a basis for it--of sorts.

2-7-2: A valid signal is a signal given by a player of Team B who has obviously signaled his intention by extending one hand only clearly above his head and waving that hand from side to side of his body more than once

2-7-3: An invalid signal is any waving signal by a player of Team B that does not meet this requirement.


So the time frame is: however long it takes him to clearly wave one hand from side to side at least twice.

EDIT: In hindsight, I should have been more specific about my scenario involving an invalid signal.

My whole point was: if the signal is being given so late that the signaller doesn't have time to meet the requirements of 2-7-2, and instead he does a single, chin-high wave, then he isn't afforded the normal post-touching protection.

The quickie/single wave signal I was talking about is, by definition, invalid.

Yes, Team A could still commit a personal or flagrant foul. But if it's a "normal/clean" hit, then there shouldn't be a foul.

Rereading Rule 6 now I see the issue. It starts with:

No player of Team B shall make any invalid signal.

Next it says, Any signal is invalid after it's caught, touches ground, etc.

But these don't mean the same thing. You can have an invalid signal before the ball touches something.

The second point just means that once the ball touches the ground, the nice-high-double-cross-body wave (normally the shining symbol of validity), is just another crummy invalid signal.

Last edited by chymechowder; Tue Oct 05, 2010 at 03:17pm.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 05, 2010, 04:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by chymechowder View Post
My whole point was: if the signal is being given so late that the signaller doesn't have time to meet the requirements of 2-7-2, and instead he does a single, chin-high wave, then he isn't afforded the normal post-touching protection.

The quickie/single wave signal I was talking about is, by definition, invalid.

Yes, Team A could still commit a personal or flagrant foul. But if it's a "normal/clean" hit, then there shouldn't be a foul.
So it doesn't matter when the vaild signal is given?
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith

Last edited by BktBallRef; Tue Oct 05, 2010 at 07:49pm.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 06, 2010, 06:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef View Post
So it doesn't matter when the valid signal is given?
Exactly. If R gives a valid signal and is then hit, that's a PF. If he gives an invalid signal (too low, not enough waves, etc. etc.), then it is not a fair catch, there's no flag for PF, and we probably have a flag for invalid signal.

But there's simply no place for chyme's idea of time limits on a valid signal.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fair catch Refsmitty Football 5 Mon Oct 06, 2008 04:41pm
Fair catch or not? Nyjets Football 3 Thu Sep 07, 2006 02:20pm
Fair catch or not phansen Football 1 Thu Aug 24, 2006 08:34pm
Fair Catch runningwild Football 8 Thu Sep 02, 2004 09:06am
Try after fair catch lawref Football 21 Wed Sep 17, 2003 03:48pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:45pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1