The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 22, 2010, 12:07am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: mid michigan
Posts: 12
TE cut blocks

are the TE's allowed to cut block the DT since they (TE) are not in tackle box? I thought that only players inside (tackle to tackle) are allowed to cut block inside the box.

the reason I ask is because we play a team this week who, when they run away from the TE, will cut the DT while the G and T both pull to lead on the sweep.

thanks for any info and replies.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 22, 2010, 12:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,919
Quote:
Originally Posted by MIcoach View Post
I thought that only players inside (tackle to tackle) are allowed to cut block inside the box.
No such rule in Fed. Were they all positioned within 4 yds. of the ball?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 22, 2010, 12:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by MIcoach View Post
are the TE's allowed to cut block the DT since they (TE) are not in tackle box? I thought that only players inside (tackle to tackle) are allowed to cut block inside the box.

the reason I ask is because we play a team this week who, when they run away from the TE, will cut the DT while the G and T both pull to lead on the sweep.

thanks for any info and replies.
TE only needs any part of his body in FBZ to block below the waist provided the defensive tackle was also in FBZ and the ball had not yet left the zone which I would assume it had not in the play you mentioned.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 22, 2010, 12:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: mid michigan
Posts: 12
I am assuming the TE is in the FBZ (yds) since the Oline is foot to foot with their splits. I am just worried about my DT's knees when he gets blindsided by the TE while trying to follow the G/T's pull.

I guess I should have searched the forum first before posting my question. After I posted I did a search and found the answer I was looking for.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 22, 2010, 07:53am
Chain of Fools
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,648
First we've got to break out of the "coachese"-

There is no "tackle box" in the Fed for the blocks nor the QB. We do have the "free blocking zone".

Cut block is another coaches term. Blocking below the waist (BBW) is how we would refer to it. Some defensive coaches think that all "cut blocks" are illegal. That isn't the case.

Quote:
2-17- ART. 1 . . . The free-blocking zone is a rectangular area extending laterally 4 yards either side of the spot of the snap and 3 yards behind each line of scrimmage. A player is in the free-blocking zone when any part of his body is in the zone at the snap.
Quote:
ART. 2 . . . Blocking below the waist is permitted in the free-blocking zone when the following conditions are met:

a. All players involved in the blocking are on the line of scrimmage and in the zone at the snap.

b. The contact is in the zone.
Quote:
ART. 5 . . . The free-blocking zone disintegrates and the exception for a player to block below the waist and/or the exception for an offensive lineman to clip and/or block in the back is not to continue after the ball has left the zone.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 22, 2010, 07:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 69
Also the block below the waist has to be before the ball leaves the free blocking zone. So it has to happen quickly after the snap.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 22, 2010, 10:59am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,564
Also no block below the waist can be coupled with a high block (or a player being engaged with another opponent) if that low block is a delayed block. Which by definition is a chop block.

I agree there are all kinds of coach speak that coaches need to stop using when it has nothing to do with the rules. And when a TE is in the FBZ he is allowed to do anything that the others in that zone can do. But there are many teams that put their TE out of the zone, but nothing in the rule disallowing the TE from being in the zone.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 22, 2010, 01:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,919
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomes1978 View Post
Also the block below the waist has to be before the ball leaves the free blocking zone. So it has to happen quickly after the snap.
I wouldn't make that statement, because compared to the length of time of many downs, the ball can frequently spend all or most of it in the FBZ. Better not to imply there's anything like a time limit on it.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 23, 2010, 11:31am
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Lightbulb Canadian Ruling

Quote:
Originally Posted by MIcoach View Post
are the TE's allowed to cut block the DT since they (TE) are not in tackle box? I thought that only players inside (tackle to tackle) are allowed to cut block inside the box.

the reason I ask is because we play a team this week who, when they run away from the TE, will cut the DT while the G and T both pull to lead on the sweep.

thanks for any info and replies.
CANADIAN RULING:

TEs are not in the CLPA. so they are not permitted to cut block.

This is also the Canadian ruling, but we also demand the the cutter is stationary at the snap.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 27, 2010, 02:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by MIcoach View Post
are the TE's allowed to cut block the DT since they (TE) are not in tackle box? I thought that only players inside (tackle to tackle) are allowed to cut block inside the box.

the reason I ask is because we play a team this week who, when they run away from the TE, will cut the DT while the G and T both pull to lead on the sweep.

thanks for any info and replies.
Interesting discussion ......in my association they intrepret the rule differently than NFHS, it is not allowed period in the shotgun because their logic is the ball has left the zone at the snap because a shotgun snap is 5-7 yards, and they defined the zone as tackle to tackle therefore the tight end can not BBW. THe area coaches were involved in the decision so they are always sure to point out the habitual offending teams in the pregame discussion with the WH.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 27, 2010, 06:00am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by movingthechains View Post
Interesting discussion ......in my association they intrepret the rule differently than NFHS, it is not allowed period in the shotgun because their logic is the ball has left the zone at the snap because a shotgun snap is 5-7 yards, and they defined the zone as tackle to tackle therefore the tight end can not BBW. THe area coaches were involved in the decision so they are always sure to point out the habitual offending teams in the pregame discussion with the WH.
If it really is your association's "interp," they're wrong twice.

2.17.2 SITUATION E: A1 is in shotgun formation, lined up seven yards behind
the line of scrimmage ready to receive the snap. Immediately after the snap to A1,
(a) A2 immediately drops and blocks B1 below the waist or (b) A2 rises, and
slightly retreats as if to go in traditional pass blocking protection, but then dives
and blocks B1 below the waist. Both A2 and B1 were in the zone and on the line
of scrimmage at the snap. The contact between A2 and B1 takes place in the freeblocking
zone. RULING: It is a legal block in (a) and an illegal block below the
waist in (b). It is legal for A2 to block B1 below the waist if the contact is made
immediately following the snap. Any later, and the ball is considered to have left
the free-blocking zone and the block is illegal.

2-17-1 . . . The free-blocking zone is a rectangular area extending laterally 4
yards either side of the spot of the snap and 3 yards behind each line of
scrimmage
. A player is in the free-blocking zone when any part of his body is in
the zone at the snap.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 27, 2010, 05:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
If it really is your association's "interp," they're wrong twice.

2.17.2 SITUATION E: A1 is in shotgun formation, lined up seven yards behind
the line of scrimmage ready to receive the snap. Immediately after the snap to A1,
(a) A2 immediately drops and blocks B1 below the waist or (b) A2 rises, and
slightly retreats as if to go in traditional pass blocking protection, but then dives
and blocks B1 below the waist. Both A2 and B1 were in the zone and on the line
of scrimmage at the snap. The contact between A2 and B1 takes place in the freeblocking
zone. RULING: It is a legal block in (a) and an illegal block below the
waist in (b). It is legal for A2 to block B1 below the waist if the contact is made
immediately following the snap. Any later, and the ball is considered to have left
the free-blocking zone and the block is illegal.

2-17-1 . . . The free-blocking zone is a rectangular area extending laterally 4
yards either side of the spot of the snap and 3 yards behind each line of
scrimmage
. A player is in the free-blocking zone when any part of his body is in
the zone at the snap.
Im aware our associations intrepretation is different than NFHS rule book. however I agree with the shotgun part becasue if a qb is 7 yards deep and the FBZ extends 3 yards then technically when the ball is snapped it has left the zone. I think they are erring on the side of safety and like I said the coaches are fine with it.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 27, 2010, 09:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by movingthechains View Post
Im aware our associations intrepretation is different than NFHS rule book. however I agree with the shotgun part becasue if a qb is 7 yards deep and the FBZ extends 3 yards then technically when the ball is snapped it has left the zone. I think they are erring on the side of safety and like I said the coaches are fine with it.
"Technically" the ball is still in the FBZ at the snap.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 27, 2010, 08:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by movingthechains View Post
Interesting discussion ......in my association they intrepret the rule differently than NFHS, it is not allowed period in the shotgun because their logic is the ball has left the zone at the snap because a shotgun snap is 5-7 yards, and they defined the zone as tackle to tackle therefore the tight end can not BBW. THe area coaches were involved in the decision so they are always sure to point out the habitual offending teams in the pregame discussion with the WH.
I've heard of officials making up their own wrong interpretations that are clearly not what the rules say... but I chalk that up to poor training or just ignorance.

Not often an entire association ends up doing that.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 27, 2010, 10:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by movingthechains View Post
... they defined the zone as tackle to tackle therefore the tight end can not BBW.
Which is completely contrary to the rule.

Quote:
Originally Posted by movingthechains View Post
Im aware our associations intrepretation is different than NFHS rule book. however I agree with the shotgun part becasue if a qb is 7 yards deep and the FBZ extends 3 yards then technically when the ball is snapped it has left the zone. I think they are erring on the side of safety and like I said the coaches are fine with it.
No, the ball has no left the zone at the snap. The zone is three yards deep, so the ball is not out of the zone until it travels the three yards.

There's no safety issue here. BBW immediately after the snap while in shotgun is no more dangerous than blocking in the same manner on a hand to hand snap.

What other rules do they make up in your area?
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith

Last edited by BktBallRef; Fri Aug 27, 2010 at 10:52pm.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cut Blocks sm_bbcoach Football 11 Fri Nov 05, 2004 04:08pm
going to the blocks Nevadaref Basketball 8 Tue Mar 16, 2004 05:49pm
Low Blocks & Shotgun parepat Football 4 Wed Oct 08, 2003 10:42am
Blocks in the back? davidfv1 Football 17 Tue Sep 09, 2003 06:51pm
Chop Blocks FridayKnights Football 12 Mon Jun 09, 2003 10:03pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:02am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1