The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 03, 2004, 01:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 264
Lightbulb

Question:

Center snaps ball and immediately “cuts” down on the nose guard. Let me explain the block: Just as he snaps the ball, he goes down to the legs and ankles of the nose guard.

Is this legal?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 03, 2004, 01:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 945
As you describe this play it is legal. It is legal for the center to block the nose guard below the waist if the block was immediately after the snap. The actual rule is much more involved and covers many more players, more area, and for a longer period of time when the block may occur. Someone else will come along with all the free-blocking zone rules later but this explaination will cover your specific scenario.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 03, 2004, 01:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 264
Talking Free Blocking Zone

Thanks.

I have the rules: 2-17-2 and 9-3-2.

Just wanted to make sure I was interpereting them correct.

[email protected]
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 03, 2004, 01:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 248
The free-blocking-zone extends 3 yards forward & back from the LOS and 4 yards to either side of the ball. As long as the ball is in the zone, the contact is in the zone, and both players involved were lined up on the LOS, blocks in the back and blocks below the waise become legal.

That's my understanding anyway
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 03, 2004, 01:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 265
Quote:
Originally posted by SouthGARef
...blocks in the back and blocks below the waise become legal.

That's my understanding anyway
Almost. It should say...blocks in the back by the offense...
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 03, 2004, 02:35pm
MJT MJT is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Alton, Iowa
Posts: 1,796
Quote:
Originally posted by sm_bbcoach
Question:
Center snaps ball and immediately “cuts” down on the nose guard. Let me explain the block: Just as he snaps the ball, he goes down to the legs and ankles of the nose guard.

Is this legal?
Here is something I put together for blocking. I hope the formatting works as I have it in word.

Blocking, free blocking zones, illegal blocks

Clipping – Initial contact at or below the waist against a player other a runner or pretending to be a runner.
Clipping is permitted in the FBZ when
1)by offensive linemen on the LOS and in zone at snap
2)against defensive linemen on LOS and in zone at the snap
3)the contact is in the zone
4)the ball is still in the zone
Summary: Only offense can legally clip. All must be on LOS and in zone at snap.

Blocking below the waist - initial contact at or below the waist from the front or side and they are not the runner.
BBW is permitted in the FBZ when
1)by all players who are on the LOS and in the zone at the snap
2)the contact is in the zone
3)the ball is still in the zone
Summary: Anyone who is on the LOS and in the zone can BBW.

Blocking in the back – initial contact is in the opponents back, inside the shoulders, below the helmet, and above the waist, and against a player other than a runner or pretended runner.
BIB is permitted in the FBZ when
1) by offensive linemen who are on the LOS and in the zone at the snap
2) against defensive players who are in the zone at the snap
3) the contact is in the zone
4) the ball is still in the zone
Summary: Only offense can legally BIB. Offense must be on LOS and in zone at snap, defense just in zone at the snap. (LB’s are probably in the zone at the snap)

Butt block – Illegal – using the facemask, front, or top of helmet to make contact at any time.

Chop block – Illegal – delayed block at the knees or below against an opponent who is already engaged.
1st block high and 2nd block low – illegal, 1st block low, 2nd block low – illegal
Key only illegal if the 2nd block is low.
All simultaneous blocks by 2 on 1 defender are legal!!!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 03, 2004, 03:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Clinton Township, NJ
Posts: 2,065
REPLY: MJT...good summary! I would make one revision though. In your definition of clipping, it should probably read: "Initial contact from behind at or below the waist against a player other a runner or pretending to be a runner. Right?
__________________
Bob M.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 04, 2004, 05:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 204
Quote:
Originally posted by MJT

Chop block – Illegal – delayed block at the knees or below against an opponent who is already engaged.
1st block high and 2nd block low – illegal, 1st block low, 2nd block low – illegal
Key only illegal if the 2nd block is low.
All simultaneous blocks by 2 on 1 defender are legal!!!
My favourite topic...
Are you looking to NF?
With NCAA this is not 100% true.
Simultaneous 'combo' blocks by adjacent linemen in the NZ are legal.
Simultaneous 'combo' blocks beyond the NZ are not legal.

I think it is better to sum it up as:
Illegal:
All delayed blocks with the 2nd being low.
All combos from non-adjacent linemen.
All combos from offense clearly beyond the NZ.

James
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 04, 2004, 08:16am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Clinton Township, NJ
Posts: 2,065
REPLY: James, I'm certain that MJT's summary was for Federation rules. Anyone who has ever seen all the criteria for an NCAA chop block realizes that you need a post-grad degree to remember them.

Also, fundamental difference between Fed and NCAA chop block is in the definition of the low block portion of the chop. In Federation, the low block is defined to be at the knees or below. The NCAA low block is defined to be at the thigh or below.
__________________
Bob M.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 05, 2004, 03:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Alexandria, LA
Posts: 175
What if the QB is in a "shotgun" formation 5-6 yards behind the LOS?
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 05, 2004, 03:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
When QB is in shotgun, the only thing that changes if the length of time that the ball is in the NZ. The suspect block must be nearly immediate in this case to be legal. If there's any real delay between snap and the initiation of the block, you probably have an illegal block.

But this, admittedly, is a much fuzzier area than a regular snap.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 05, 2004, 04:08pm
MJT MJT is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Alton, Iowa
Posts: 1,796
Quote:
Originally posted by mcrowder
When QB is in shotgun, the only thing that changes if the length of time that the ball is in the NZ. The suspect block must be nearly immediate in this case to be legal. If there's any real delay between snap and the initiation of the block, you probably have an illegal block.

But this, admittedly, is a much fuzzier area than a regular snap.
My crew has discusse this and decided that if the block is "immediate" the ball will still be in the zone. If he steps back then goes low, the ball would be out of the zone.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:59pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1