Quote:
	
	
		
			
				
					Originally Posted by  mbyron
					 
				 
				If it really is your association's "interp," they're wrong twice. 
 
2.17.2 SITUATION E: A1 is in shotgun formation, lined up seven yards behind 
the line of scrimmage ready to receive the snap. Immediately after the snap to A1, 
(a) A2 immediately drops and blocks B1 below the waist or (b) A2 rises, and 
slightly retreats as if to go in traditional pass blocking protection, but then dives 
and blocks B1 below the waist. Both A2 and B1 were in the zone and on the line 
of scrimmage at the snap. The contact between A2 and B1 takes place in the freeblocking 
zone. RULING: It is a legal block in (a) and an illegal block below the 
waist in (b). It is legal for A2 to block B1 below the waist if the contact is made 
immediately following the snap. Any later, and the ball is considered to have left 
the free-blocking zone and the block is illegal. 
 
2-17-1 . . . The free-blocking zone is a rectangular area extending laterally 4 
yards either side of the spot of the snap and 3 yards behind each line of 
scrimmage. A player is in the free-blocking zone when any part of his body is in 
the zone at the snap. 
			
		 | 
	
	
 Im aware our associations intrepretation is different than NFHS rule book. however I agree with the shotgun part becasue if a qb is 7 yards deep and the FBZ extends 3 yards then technically when the ball is snapped it has left the zone. I think they are erring on the side of safety and like I said the coaches are fine with it.