![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
The IP rule in general is harsh in dealing with Team A players that have unintentionally stepped out of bounds. A receiver that is one step out of bounds and returns has committed IP and that is what the Fed wants so calling the OP IP is consistent with other situations. This is why I like the NCAA rule better.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers Last edited by Welpe; Fri Aug 13, 2010 at 11:15am. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Quote:
Despite this, AJ wants to rule that a ball that has not gone out of bounds is dead. That's against the spirit of the rules. As to strange consequences, I don't see them. What's strange about calling a penalty? |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Quote:
Now that I'm working only under NCAA, I will flag it for illegal touching. If you have such a problem with the Federation "allowing another down" for IP, then you should petition them to change the rule so that it matches the NCAA. You really need to take this up with the rules committee.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers Last edited by Welpe; Fri Aug 13, 2010 at 10:27pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
|
I believe that by rule this play is neither IP or incomplete. It's an odd loophole in the rule for a situation that is almost unlikely to ever occur! If you are going to call this IP, you are also going to call the following play an IP:
A80, while in his route, steps on the sideline and leaps for a pass. He catches it while airborn and lands (a) out of bounds or (b) in bounds. If you are in the incomplete pass camp for the first play, you have to rule incomplete only for both of these plays as well. If you are in the IP camp, you would rule IP for both of these plays as well. I think most officials would agree (a) is just an incomplete pass and (b) could be correctly ruled IP but some would probably just rule incomplete. If a coach is going to intentionally run a play that involves a receiver touching out of bounds, leaping, catching and throwing or batting the ball to a teammate SUCCESSFULLY, and having that receiver do anything with it from there is probably not going to be coaching very long. If they pull this off, I think it's still a live ball with no fouls. The case play Welpe used was from a few years ago and we don't know if it was removed to make space or because it's no longer a valid interpretation. Regardless, this play is probably never going to happen so what's the point getting so emotional about it? Go with your own opinions and move on. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
You know, where the ball hits the baton thrown up by the baton twirler and rebounds into the field. Or where it's 4th down and team A sends a couple receivers well and clearly beyond the end line to jump and bat an overthrown ball back (which their receiver in the end zone had a shot at, but missed) so that team B needs to accept the penalty and repeat the down to avoid giving up a TD. Or where a receiver nicks the sideline with his foot while jumping and catching the ball.
Last edited by Robert Goodman; Fri Aug 13, 2010 at 08:58pm. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| just a brain teaser | cmathews | Football | 6 | Tue Sep 16, 2008 05:53am |
| brain teaser | Andy | Softball | 14 | Sun Oct 21, 2007 07:26pm |
| Slightly OT: Brain Teaser | rotationslim | Basketball | 9 | Mon Apr 24, 2006 06:59am |
| Off season brain teaser | FredFan7 | Football | 11 | Thu Mar 09, 2006 06:35pm |
| Brain teaser. | Mike Simonds | Football | 4 | Tue Jul 22, 2003 01:34pm |