![]() |
|
|||
|
Quote:
AJMC... A88 is forced out of bounds, and has touched out of bounds on the ground. From the sideline, he leaps in the air. The ball hits his hands... At this moment - is the play over? By definition, the play is over when the ball is out of bounds, and it has just contacted something that by your definition is out of bounds. There are 3 possible continuations of this play. They have different results. The reason they have different results is that this airbound player is NOT out of bounds. Out of bounds is a present tense situation. It is not a status that gets flipped back and forth. There is no such thing as "in bounds". Something is simply either OUT OF BOUNDS... or it isn't. No one is claiming he is suddenly in bounds - that's you putting words in our mouths. We are, however, saying that by rule, he is NOT currently out of bounds when in the air. By your definition, this play is over. However, consider the first 2 of these 3situations: A) he catches this ball, and lands out of bounds. B) he catches this ball, and lands in bounds. Sitch A - WHEN HE LANDS, the pass is incomplete. (Note that it was not yet incomplete until he landed ... meaning that the player was NOT out of bounds when it hit him). Sitch B - WHEN HE LANDS, the pass is COMPLETE - and the play is not yet over. But wait - by your opinion, this player was out of bounds at this moment - and can't catch the ball, despite rulings in the book otherwise. So ... surely you recognize that this airborne player is not out of bounds. He has not, in basketballese, "re-established" himself in bounds. He is no longer out of bounds solely because of what.... because he is NOT TOUCHING (AT THAT MOMENT) anything that is out of bounds. Now, Sitch C - the ball deflects off the player and into someone else's hands. Play on? Or no? The right answer is Play on. Not sure what your answer is, nor how you justify it based on your mistaken belief that the player is still out of bounds when he jumps, but I'm interested in hearing it. Don't just dismiss the situation because THIS guy was forced out and the other was not. It's the same rules wrt out of bounds or not out of bounds - and the same regarding a ball contacting him.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| just a brain teaser | cmathews | Football | 6 | Tue Sep 16, 2008 05:53am |
| brain teaser | Andy | Softball | 14 | Sun Oct 21, 2007 07:26pm |
| Slightly OT: Brain Teaser | rotationslim | Basketball | 9 | Mon Apr 24, 2006 06:59am |
| Off season brain teaser | FredFan7 | Football | 11 | Thu Mar 09, 2006 06:35pm |
| Brain teaser. | Mike Simonds | Football | 4 | Tue Jul 22, 2003 01:34pm |