The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 12, 2010, 09:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,593
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eastshire View Post
But no one is saying this. In fact, quite the opposite, the point is that by jumping into the air the receiver is illegally participating in the play (or illegally touching the pass depending on the code).

What he is not doing is touching a pass while OOB. This is made clear by the case play where a receiver who has been forced OOB jumps in the air, catches the pass and lands on the field has made a valid catch.

A player in the air over OOB may be illegally participating, but he is not OOB. Again, flag the foul and let play continue.
Don't know about any "code" other than NFHS. A player who is OOB is NOT illegally participating when he touches a pass, nor is he guilty of illegally touching the pass, provided he is an eligible receiver.

When A player is "forced OOB by an opponent", his being OOB is ignored, so in essence his being OOB never happened, which is why his completing an airborne catch inbounds, is not considered Illegal participation, provided it is judged he, " returnes to the field during the down, he shall return at the first opportunity."

The issue we're talking about has nothing to do with being forced OOB. The suggestion is that a player who has satisfied the requirement of touching OOB, who remainsoutside the boundry lines OOB, can touch (bat or otherwise redirect) a forward pass back into the field of play, where a teammate can legally complete a catch, by simply jumping up into the air, while OOB. I don't accept that interpretation as I don't believe it makes any sense, common or football.

The example previously suggested, although totally ridiculous, illustrates the falicy of this interpretation. A88 (an eligible receiver) voluntarily leaves the field, and runs behind the team area. A throws a pass way OOB that A88 emerges from behind his team area, jumps up into the air and redirects that pass to A44 (another eligible receiver) who catches the pass, clearly inbounds, and advances to the EZ. A88 has not committed Illegal Participation as he has not returned inbounds. Returning inbounds is a requirement of NF: 9-6-1 and 2.

A88 is not illegally touching the pass, as he is an eligible receiver when he touched the ball, provided he began the down as an eligible receiver. Since neither penalty applies, are you going to allow the score? Common sense suggests, (at least from my interpretation) that since A satisfied all the requirements of being OOB, his subsequent touching of that pass, whether he is in constant contact with the ground OR NOT, renders the ball dead.

Last edited by ajmc; Thu Aug 12, 2010 at 09:11pm.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
just a brain teaser cmathews Football 6 Tue Sep 16, 2008 05:53am
brain teaser Andy Softball 14 Sun Oct 21, 2007 07:26pm
Slightly OT: Brain Teaser rotationslim Basketball 9 Mon Apr 24, 2006 06:59am
Off season brain teaser FredFan7 Football 11 Thu Mar 09, 2006 06:35pm
Brain teaser. Mike Simonds Football 4 Tue Jul 22, 2003 01:34pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:57pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1