![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
Had the ball gone out of bounds prior to entering the EZ, then the ball would have belonged to Oregon... but not at that spot. NCAA has a forward fumble rule that would have been applied. |
|
|||
So if Oregon would have recovered IN the EZ, they would have gotten the ball back at the point of the fumble? Or once the ball crossed the plane as a result of the fumble is in OSU's ball regardless?
I was actually rooting for OSU, so this isn't "sour grapes". I'm just trying to understand the rule. Thanks |
|
|||
SamG: just to expand a little on what TXMike said... had it been fourth down... only the "fumbler" can recover the ball and not have the play whistled dead at that point with the ball being returned to the spot of the fumble.
It is crucial for an official to know the down, player number of who fumbled and player number of who recovered. I think the philosophy now that replay is part of the game at the big time level is to let the play end normally and sort it out afterward and/or let IR correct the result. |
|
|||
Just as a point of reference, although the play discussed here is during the "Rose Bowl" which is obviously covered by NCAA rules, the "4th down fumble exception" does not exist, nor apply, to High School (NFHS) rules.
|
|
|||
Quote:
In NCAA, a muff only adds new impetus if the ball is at rest as was mentioned before. |
|
|||
Quote:
In this specific play, the ball was heading toward the EZ like a hot potato and no additional force was added by the defense. therefore the result is the same for both codes... again on this play. |
|
|||
Quote:
NF: 2-44 defines "Touching" "Touching refers to any contact with the ball, i.e., either by touching or being touched by it..." NF: 2-13-1 through 4 defines "Force" as, " the result of energy exerted by a player which provides movement of the ball..." As previously suggested, the key factor is the judgment of the covering official whether or not any touching/muffing constitutes a new force responsible, "for forcing the ball from the field of play across a goal line....." |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Unsportsmanlike Conduct in Rose Bowl? | Rick KY | Football | 18 | Wed Jan 03, 2007 09:07am |
Rose Bowl Coin Toss | WhistlesAndStripes | Football | 2 | Mon Jan 09, 2006 11:41pm |
Reggie Bush Play in Rose Bowl | Goodrich56 | Football | 6 | Mon Jan 09, 2006 01:39pm |
Rose Bowl Coin | jrfath | Football | 4 | Sat Jan 07, 2006 12:02pm |
Rose Bowl Officials | Sal Giaco | Football | 6 | Thu Jan 05, 2006 07:12pm |