The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 03, 2010, 10:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 1,464
the 4'th down fumble rule also applies during a TRY down.

There...now you have the rest of the story.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 04, 2010, 01:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 121
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamG View Post
Sorry guys, I'm confused. TXMike says since it was 2nd down, if Oregon would have recovered in the EZ, it's a TD. But I thought the offense couldn't advance a fumble.

Also, if I'm understanding you correctly, on a fumble on 4th, ONLY the player fumbling the ball could recover it. If anyone else does it goes back to where the ball was fumbled. Is that correct?

Thanks
Just a fan here, but I learned this rule after seeing it come up in a game a few years back. Officials, please correct me if I mess up the wording:

On fourth down or a try, if the ball is recovered by by an offensive player other than the fumbler BEHIND the spot of the fumble (i.e. the ball is fumbled backwards), it's marked at the spot of the fumble RECOVERY.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 04, 2010, 06:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,305
Correct. Ball becomes dead when recovered and belongs to Team A at that spot.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 05, 2010, 07:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fan10 View Post
Just a fan here, but I learned this rule after seeing it come up in a game a few years back. Officials, please correct me if I mess up the wording:

On fourth down or a try, if the ball is recovered by by an offensive player other than the fumbler BEHIND the spot of the fumble (i.e. the ball is fumbled backwards), it's marked at the spot of the fumble RECOVERY.
Your statement is correct for NFL. In a nutshell, on fourth down or a try, the team on offense cannot gain yardage if the ball is fumbled forward. On the other hand, they may lose yardage. This rule also applies to the defense in the last two minutes of each half if they gain possession of the ball by virtue of a turnover.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 06, 2010, 05:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 131
Quote:
Originally Posted by Forksref View Post
I saw an Illegal Batting call in one of the bowl games. The ball was loose on the ground and a defender swiped at it and batted it backwards. Good call.
It is not illegal in NCAA to bat a loose ball backwards, unless the ball is in the end zone. (NCAA 9-4-1-c) So the Rose Bowl foul must have been for something else.

Last edited by insatty; Wed Jan 06, 2010 at 05:54pm.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 06, 2010, 09:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 1,464
From the Outback Bowl... maybe this is the illegal batting play you are thinking of.

YouTube - Batting and IR

However, as you will see... the flags were picked up for another reason.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unsportsmanlike Conduct in Rose Bowl? Rick KY Football 18 Wed Jan 03, 2007 09:07am
Rose Bowl Coin Toss WhistlesAndStripes Football 2 Mon Jan 09, 2006 11:41pm
Reggie Bush Play in Rose Bowl Goodrich56 Football 6 Mon Jan 09, 2006 01:39pm
Rose Bowl Coin jrfath Football 4 Sat Jan 07, 2006 12:02pm
Rose Bowl Officials Sal Giaco Football 6 Thu Jan 05, 2006 07:12pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:29pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1