![]() |
|
|||
It seems, upon further reflection, that your position is:
if the airborne player is over the EZ, possesses the ball but is pushed out of the EZ and comes down inbounds then forward progress is ruled whether or not the player is down or held and a TD is awarded. However, it also appears true that if you take the EZ out of the equation and say the catch is at the 20 and the airborne receiver is pushed back but not downed or held then forward progress is not going to be ruled and the now runner is on his own to do whatever he tries to do. This seems like a totally inconsistent way to rule on the same action just because of where it happens on the field. Editted to add: in your example of casebook 2.15.1 if the condition of actually being downed is immaterial, why is it even included in the example? Why wouldn't it just say "while in the air in the EZ, he is contacted by B1 and then lands on B's 2 yard line"? But instead, it includes "and is downed". Do we just ignore that condition/implication of the example?
__________________
Indecision may or may not be my problem Last edited by Mike L; Tue Nov 10, 2009 at 06:25pm. |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
High School rule book | zebra14 | Football | 2 | Thu Aug 21, 2008 11:39am |
High School Rule Book | Ref | Basketball | 10 | Mon Jul 02, 2007 08:33pm |
NFHS High School Fastpitch bat rule | Storm | Softball | 4 | Tue May 25, 2004 05:09pm |
NJ High School Ref please give me ther rule | redoubtable1 | Basketball | 15 | Sun Mar 28, 2004 08:54pm |
High School Rule | mvp2jeter | Football | 5 | Mon Sep 15, 2003 10:32am |