The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 13, 2003, 02:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 19
In high school, if R1 returns the kick for a TD, but R4 holds, is it an automatic rekick 10 yards up or does K get a choice depending on spot?

Eric J. In CO
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 13, 2003, 10:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 945
It would be a rekick only if the foul occurred before kick ended. After R possessed the kick then the foul would be marked off from the end-of-the-run or the spot-of-the-foul if this spot was behind the end-of-the-run. In your case the holding, if after the end of the kick, would be enforced from the spot of the foul.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 13, 2003, 12:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 465
Quote:
Originally posted by mvp2jeter
In high school, if R1 returns the kick for a TD, but R4 holds, is it an automatic rekick 10 yards up or does K get a choice depending on spot?

Eric J. In CO
Depends on what kind of kick it was. If it’s a free kick and the foul was before the kick ended, then re-kick after enforcement from the previous spot. If this was a scrimmage kick (field goal attempt, or punt) K will re-kick unless PSK applies. This all depends on where and when the foul occurred and if the penalty is accepted or not. This depends on K’s choice after you give the options you must compute in a timely fashion using the “All But One” principal. So there you go Eric ...nothing to it
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 13, 2003, 05:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 19
Thanks,

James Neil and Warrenkicker. That's a huge help.

Eric
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 15, 2003, 09:07am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 10
Sorry guys. To be rekicked, the foul must have occured before the kick crossed the neutral zone, otherwise we have a PSK under the new rule this year if it is before the kick ends. If the kick has ended and the hold was on the runback, then the foul would be enforced from the spot of the foul. This enforcement has been very confusing to many this year.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 15, 2003, 10:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Bloomington, IL
Posts: 1,319
Quote:
Originally posted by northindyref
Sorry guys. To be rekicked, the foul must have occured before the kick crossed the neutral zone, otherwise we have a PSK under the new rule this year if it is before the kick ends. If the kick has ended and the hold was on the runback, then the foul would be enforced from the spot of the foul. This enforcement has been very confusing to many this year.
if it is a scrimmage kick and meets the requirements for PSK.

BUT, if it is a free-kick, PSK does not apply.
__________________
Mike Sears
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:30pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1