The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 10, 2009, 11:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 63
Offensive encroachment??

2nd time as a WH in my life last night and twice we had WR's lining up a yard off the ball, in the wrong direction, they were on the defensive side of the ball. I signaled encroachment both times because i could think of no other signal besides maybe illegal formation. Did i get this right or did I kick it?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 10, 2009, 12:17pm
TODO: creative title here
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,250
You got it right. A is guilty of encroachment if any part of an A player's body (except for the snapper) is in the neutral zone.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 10, 2009, 12:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
How did your wing let him line up there? Something's fishy: you should never have encroachment like that.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 10, 2009, 12:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
How did your wing let him line up there? Something's fishy: you should never have encroachment like that.
He repeatedly told him to get back, and after plays would come up to them and tell them they were too far ahead. They apparently didn't listen to him.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 10, 2009, 01:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 236
Encroachment is correct, RC. you got it right! don't you just love it when that happens?!

On the few occassions when I get to be a wing I will offer some help by telling the kid to back up or at least give him a second or so, as long as the snap is not imminent, to back up. Looks like your wing tried this more than once. Despite being a strong advocate of preventive officiating, bottom line is it is not the officials job to line a kid up...

Despite people who are a little to quick with the second guess and judgment trigger on this and other forums, the best possible learning environmnet is to ask questions like this in a safe evironmnet and all of us,regardless of experience level, to keep learning each game!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 10, 2009, 02:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,915
Suppose the neutral zone is set, and team A is playing without huddling. A1, returning from B's side of B's line of scrimmage, stops at a point where he's still encroaching. The wing official says, "Here's your line of scrimmage" and points, and A1 stands offside and drools. A's snapper isn't over the ball yet, but is getting there. At what point do you kill the play in Fed?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 14, 2009, 09:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by Refsmitty View Post
Once the RFP whistle has blown - it is encroachment
Only half right.

2-8 ENCROACHMENT: "Encroachment occurs when a player is illegally in the neutral zone during the
time interval starting when the ball is marked ready for play and until the ball is
snapped or free kicked."

Notice that it says "illegally in the NZ." When I'm a wing, a player lining up before the snap will not be illegally in the NZ, and so not guilty of encroachment.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 14, 2009, 09:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Michigan
Posts: 280
Got it - thanks mbyron

__________________
Refsmitty
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 14, 2009, 09:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: N.D.
Posts: 1,829
Coaches, where are you?

One of my pet peeves: Coaches who don't coach their receivers on this. I shouldn't have to be telling kids if they are legal or not before the play or moving them. I do, for the kids' sake, but it is poor coaching if you don't get your kids lining up right. It's not rocket science. Look at the ball, the interior linemen, my feet...
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 14, 2009, 07:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,915
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
Only half right.

2-8 ENCROACHMENT: "Encroachment occurs when a player is illegally in the neutral zone during the
time interval starting when the ball is marked ready for play and until the ball is
snapped or free kicked."
How about players beyond the NZ? Say an entering sub? Do Fed rules allow you to make the ball RFP before players from the previous down have returned to their respective sides?
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 15, 2009, 06:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Goodman View Post
How about players beyond the NZ? Say an entering sub? Do Fed rules allow you to make the ball RFP before players from the previous down have returned to their respective sides?
Yes. Entering subs are permitted by rule to cross through the NZ as they enter. The encroachment restrictions do not apply until they are on their side of the NZ (or the ball is snapped).
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 15, 2009, 05:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,915
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
Yes. Entering subs are permitted by rule to cross through the NZ as they enter. The encroachment restrictions do not apply until they are on their side of the NZ (or the ball is snapped).
What if they're not subs, but had been players of the previous down?
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 15, 2009, 10:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,643
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Goodman View Post
What if they're not subs, but had been players of the previous down?
There is no exception for them. Just because the ball is RFP does not mean that encroachment can happen.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Encroachment swkansasref33 Football 6 Mon Sep 24, 2007 02:19pm
Encroachment Redneck Ref Football 3 Tue Aug 30, 2005 12:30pm
Encroachment? Texoma_LJ Football 2 Sun Sep 12, 2004 12:46pm
ENCROACHMENT OF R FOR KICKOFF MRIGUY Football 5 Wed Sep 08, 2004 03:15pm
Encroachment Smiley Football 4 Fri Jul 18, 2003 03:44pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:17pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1