![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
I called illegal touching but I wasn't too sure I was right. The defense declined the penalty and we just moved on. I am glad I got it right in retrospect.
Could it also be ineligible downfield on a pass if he didn't touch the ball? |
|
|||
|
Ineligible Downfield - See Rules Book 7-5-12 & CASEBOOK 7.5.12 SITUATION A
Illegal Touching - See Rules Book 7-5-13 & CASEBOOK 7.5.13 SITUATION A
__________________
"Knowledge is Good" - Emil Faber
|
|
|||
|
Why would the defense decline the penalty? It is also loss of down.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
However, two weeks ago, I watched an offensive pass interference penalty declined. Before the R could even get out the options to the defense the coach was yelling for them to decline the penalty. |
|
|||
|
True, that could be the case.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
No kidding???? However, since the poster in the OP supplied the additional information that "the defense declined the penalty and we moved on" it is highly unlikely your scenario (a change of possession play) occured!!!
__________________
"Knowledge is Good" - Emil Faber
Last edited by KWH; Wed Sep 16, 2009 at 12:58pm. |
|
|||
|
Unless B ended up with the ball or something else out of the ordinary why is the R even giving options to B? Reminds me of after a long touchdown run with holding by A and the R calls the B captain over to him and says "you can have the result of the play which is a touchdown or we can go back 10 yards from the spot of the foul and it will be third down." Everyone knows what B wants, stop wasting everyone's time.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
john_faz; With all due respect... In retrospect, if the ineligible did indeed "touch" the pass, and, you then allowed the defense to decline the penalty, (which it sounds like you may not of informed them it includes a loss of down), it is highly likely, you got it wrong!
__________________
"Knowledge is Good" - Emil Faber
|
|
|||
|
As you know, B can decline the yardage penalty. Can they decline the loss of down penalty?
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Example: 3rd and 6 from B's 30 yard line. Ineligible A53 touches a forward pass at B's 27 yard line and the ball is: a) caught by A53 and he is downed at the 25 yard line. b) incomplete c) caught by A53 and he is downed at B's 20 yard line If the penalty is accepted, it will be a), c) 4th down from B's 32 yard line, b) 4th down from B's 35 yard line. If the penalty is declined, it will be a) 4th down from B's 25 yard line, or b) 4th down from B's 30 yard line, c) first and 10 for A at B's 20 yard line. In practice, B would never decline the penalty in c). |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| No bat restrictions? | WestMichiganBlue | Softball | 17 | Wed Jul 08, 2009 08:39am |
| The U's are in the offensive backfield | MJT | Football | 14 | Tue Aug 28, 2007 05:08pm |
| Shift Restrictions | Smiley | Football | 5 | Thu Sep 21, 2006 09:42pm |
| Restrictions | TRetzer | Baseball | 1 | Tue May 11, 2004 07:31pm |
| Umpire in backfield | Forksref | Football | 4 | Fri Aug 29, 2003 07:46am |