The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Numbering Restrictions - Backfield (https://forum.officiating.com/football/54649-numbering-restrictions-backfield.html)

john_faz Tue Sep 15, 2009 12:18pm

Numbering Restrictions - Backfield
 
Can #52 line up in the back field and go out for a pass under Federation rules? I know there are numbering restrictions for linemen but the number guidelines in the rulebook are listed as recommendations. Any guidance would be helpful.

bigjohn Tue Sep 15, 2009 12:21pm

he can line up in the backfield but he is not wearing an eligible number and can not catch a forward pass. He can carry the ball and catch a backwards pass.

bbcof83 Tue Sep 15, 2009 01:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigjohn (Post 625468)
he can line up in the backfield but he is not wearing an eligible number and can not catch a forward pass. He can carry the ball and catch a backwards pass.

Would the penalty be illegal touching? 5 yards?

kdf5 Tue Sep 15, 2009 01:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bbcof83 (Post 625477)
Would the penalty be illegal touching? 5 yards?

Yes, enforced under the ABO.

john_faz Tue Sep 15, 2009 01:12pm

I called illegal touching but I wasn't too sure I was right. The defense declined the penalty and we just moved on. I am glad I got it right in retrospect.

Could it also be ineligible downfield on a pass if he didn't touch the ball?

KWH Tue Sep 15, 2009 01:27pm

For further information, please see:
 
Ineligible Downfield - See Rules Book 7-5-12 & CASEBOOK 7.5.12 SITUATION A

Illegal Touching - See Rules Book 7-5-13 & CASEBOOK 7.5.13 SITUATION A

Niner Tue Sep 15, 2009 01:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by john_faz (Post 625486)
I called illegal touching but I wasn't too sure I was right. The defense declined the penalty and we just moved on. I am glad I got it right in retrospect.

Could it also be ineligible downfield on a pass if he didn't touch the ball?

Why would the defense decline the penalty? It is also loss of down.

KWH Tue Sep 15, 2009 02:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by john_faz (Post 625486)
I called illegal touching but I wasn't too sure I was right. The defense declined the penalty and we just moved on. I am glad I got it right in retrospect.

Could it also be ineligible downfield on a pass if he didn't touch the ball?


john_faz;

With all due respect...

In retrospect, if the ineligible did indeed "touch" the pass, and, you then allowed the defense to decline the penalty, (which it sounds like you may not of informed them it includes a loss of down), it is highly likely, you got it wrong! :cool:

tjones1 Tue Sep 15, 2009 02:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Niner (Post 625490)
Why would the defense decline the penalty? It is also loss of down.

This is my question.

However, two weeks ago, I watched an offensive pass interference penalty declined. Before the R could even get out the options to the defense the coach was yelling for them to decline the penalty.

SouthGARef Tue Sep 15, 2009 02:32pm

Perhaps the illegal touching caused the ball to bounce into the air and B intercepted?

In that scenario, I could very easily see Ill. Touching declined.

tjones1 Tue Sep 15, 2009 03:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SouthGARef (Post 625519)
Perhaps the illegal touching caused the ball to bounce into the air and B intercepted?

In that scenario, I could very easily see Ill. Touching declined.

True, that could be the case.

john_faz Tue Sep 15, 2009 04:55pm

You are right. I did not inform them of the loss of down provision. My bad.

LDUB Tue Sep 15, 2009 07:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tjones1 (Post 625515)
However, two weeks ago, I watched an offensive pass interference penalty declined. Before the R could even get out the options to the defense the coach was yelling for them to decline the penalty.

Unless B ended up with the ball or something else out of the ordinary why is the R even giving options to B? Reminds me of after a long touchdown run with holding by A and the R calls the B captain over to him and says "you can have the result of the play which is a touchdown or we can go back 10 yards from the spot of the foul and it will be third down." Everyone knows what B wants, stop wasting everyone's time.

KWH Tue Sep 15, 2009 07:09pm

Well thank you Captain obvious!
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by SouthGARef (Post 625519)
Perhaps the illegal touching caused the ball to bounce into the air and B intercepted?

In that scenario, I could very easily see Ill. Touching declined.


No kidding????
However, since the poster in the OP supplied the additional information that "the defense declined the penalty and we moved on" it is highly unlikely your scenario (a change of possession play) occured!!! :rolleyes:

mbyron Tue Sep 15, 2009 08:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by john_faz (Post 625556)
You are right. I did not inform them of the loss of down provision. My bad.

As you know, B can decline the yardage penalty. Can they decline the loss of down penalty?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:19am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1