The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 07, 2009, 05:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 45
Indeed the score does count.

And A does have the option of enforcing B's foul on the try or the kickoff.

However B's options for enforcement on the unsportsmanship conduct by A will apply to both the try and succeeding kickoff as well

The options given to B on the unsportsmanlike conduct penalty by A is not determined whether the player crossed the goal line, its determined by when it occurred, whether it was before or after the ready-for-play whistle for the try. In this case its before.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 07, 2009, 07:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by gtwbam View Post
The options given to B on the unsportsmanlike conduct penalty by A is not determined whether the player crossed the goal line, its determined by when it occurred, whether it was before or after the ready-for-play whistle for the try. In this case its before.
Rule 8-2-4: "If after a touchdown-scoring play and prior to the initial ready-for-play signal for the try, either team commits any foul for which the basic spot is the succeeding spot, the offended team may have the penalty enforced from the succeeding spot or may choose to have the penalty enforced on the subsequent kickoff."

If the foul occurs before he crosses the goal line, then it is not after the play, it is during the play. Thus, B's only option is to enforce on the try.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 07, 2009, 07:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 45
Since all unsportmanlike penalties are treated as dead ball fouls, this would be the exception to the rule, and give B the option to have the penalty assessed either on the try or subsequent kickoff.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 08, 2009, 08:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by gtwbam View Post
Since all unsportmanlike penalties are treated as dead ball fouls, this would be the exception to the rule, and give B the option to have the penalty assessed either on the try or subsequent kickoff.
They are not treated as dead ball fouls and you won't that language anywhere in the rules. They are enforced from the succeeding spot. The difference is subtle, and relevant only in a play like this.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 08, 2009, 08:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 622
Quote:
Originally Posted by ref1986 View Post
They are not treated as dead ball fouls and you won't that language anywhere in the rules. They are enforced from the succeeding spot. The difference is subtle, and relevant only in a play like this.
And that's exactly why A's USC foul can't bypass the try.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 07, 2009, 07:53pm
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,794
The NFHS "Bin Book" (High School Football Penalty Enforcements Made Easy) treats a live ball foul (treated as a dead ball) as a foul that can be applied on the kickoff, as well.

Redding says: "Penalties for nonplayer and unsportsmanlike fouls, by either team during a play that ends in a touchdown (8-2-4)" can be applied on the kickoff.

Last edited by Rich; Mon Sep 07, 2009 at 07:58pm.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 07, 2009, 10:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,916
Are you all agreed that the order of presentation of the options is correct? A's choice of the live ball foul penalty, followed by B's choice of the live ball foul treated as dead ball foul penalty?

Also, might the BBW call have been incorrect (insufficient detail in the example)? Suppose the OL were pulling "flat" enough that the contact could be said to be in the neutral zone, and was in the FBZ and the ball was still in the FBZ, and B1 was a DL. ("B1 comes up" suggests it wasn't a player from the line, but that's not a definite inference.) I remember in Fed there's a difference in some case between clipping, BBW, and use of hands in the back regarding treatment of contact by A and by B, where A was allowed something B wasn't, but I don't remember which it was.

Robert
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 07, 2009, 10:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 58
Both A and B players can legally BBW if all players involved are in the FBZ and on their LOS at the snap, as long as contact is in the FBZ before the zone goes away. Clipping is legally permitted only by A linemen on the LOS and in the zone on B players on the LOS and in the zone, if contact is in the FBZ before it vanishes. Blocking in the back is legally permitted only for A players on the LOS and in the zone on any B player in the zone at the time of the snap, if contact is in the FBZ before it vanishes.

The key difference between clipping and BIB is that only defensive players in the FBZ and on their LOS can be clipped, but any defensive player in the FBZ - whether on the LOS or not - can be legally BIBed. They key difference between those two and BBW is that a B player can legally BBW, but he can't legally clip or BIB.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 07, 2009, 11:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 622
Quote:
Originally Posted by gtwbam View Post
However B's options for enforcement on the unsportsmanship conduct by A will apply to both the try and succeeding kickoff as well

The options given to B on the unsportsmanlike conduct penalty by A is not determined whether the player crossed the goal line, its determined by when it occurred, whether it was before or after the ready-for-play whistle for the try. In this case its before.
That's wrong. The USC before the score is the succeeding spot only. Bullycon has it right. A can bridge the BBW to the KO or have it on the try, B can only take A's USC on the try only.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 08, 2009, 07:00am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by kdf5 View Post
That's wrong. The USC before the score is the succeeding spot only. Bullycon has it right. A can bridge the BBW to the KO or have it on the try, B can only take A's USC on the try only.
Nobody disagrees about the penalty for BBW.

True, the USC by A happened during the down. But since it is treated as a dead-ball foul, 8-2-4 applies to it (Bullycon quoted the rule above). Thus, B has the option to enforce the penalty on the KO. Hence, the Reddings ruling also quoted.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 08, 2009, 07:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 622
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
Nobody disagrees about the penalty for BBW.

True, the USC by A happened during the down. But since it is treated as a dead-ball foul, 8-2-4 applies to it (Bullycon quoted the rule above). Thus, B has the option to enforce the penalty on the KO. Hence, the Reddings ruling also quoted.
The rule says: If AFTER a TD scoring play, the foul is committed. This foul occurred before the TD. Sorry, but Redding and the bin book are wrong in this one. There are no rules that allow the USC to bridge to the KO.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 08, 2009, 08:40am
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,794
Quote:
Originally Posted by kdf5 View Post
The rule says: If AFTER a TD scoring play, the foul is committed. This foul occurred before the TD. Sorry, but Redding and the bin book are wrong in this one. There are no rules that allow the USC to bridge to the KO.
I trust those sources over any other. That's how they will be enforced (correctly, IMO) in my games. And it also matches the spirit of the rule change, as well.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 08, 2009, 08:38am
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,794
Quote:
Originally Posted by kdf5 View Post
That's wrong. The USC before the score is the succeeding spot only. Bullycon has it right. A can bridge the BBW to the KO or have it on the try, B can only take A's USC on the try only.
Redding and the Bin Book (from Referee) agree that the USC can now be applied on the kickoff.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 08, 2009, 08:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 622
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichMSN View Post
Redding and the Bin Book (from Referee) agree that the USC can now be applied on the kickoff.
Where does the rule book say that?
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 08, 2009, 08:43am
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,794
Quote:
Originally Posted by kdf5 View Post
Where does the rule book say that?
The rule book is frequently wrong or incomplete. That said, since I am presenting on various topics (including this one) at an association meeting tomorrow night I've emailed the state office for how we're to enforce this. I know how I see it, but I'd rather see consistency than see my viewpoint be the correct one.

Last edited by Rich; Tue Sep 08, 2009 at 08:57am.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RTP enforcement Rich Football 20 Wed Sep 17, 2008 12:47pm
Enforcement of 1-5-3k alabamabluezebra Football 2 Sat Sep 03, 2005 11:43pm
Enforcement? jimmiececil Football 4 Tue Aug 23, 2005 11:41am
Enforcement mvp2jeter Football 9 Fri Oct 01, 2004 10:44am
Is this a PSK Enforcement? jrfath Football 5 Fri Sep 03, 2004 05:31pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:39pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1