Rule 8-3 The Try
ART. 4 . . . If during a successful try, a loss of down foul by A occurs, there is no score and no replay.
ART. 5 . . . If during a successful try, a foul by B occurs, A is given the choice of:
a. Accepting the penalty and replaying the down following enforcement; or
b. Accepting the result of the play and enforcement of the penalty from the
succeeding spot.
ART. 6 . . . If during an unsuccessful try, a foul by A occurs, the penalty is obviously declined, the results of the play stand and there is no replay. If B fouls, the down is replayed after enforcement.
10-5-1-d . . . The following fouls have special enforcement provisions and
options for the offended team:
A foul by the opponent of the scoring team on a successful try. (see 8-3-5)
I think it is pretty clear that only a foul by B carries over if it occurs DURING a successful try.
__________________
Mike Sears
|