The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 11, 2009, 02:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,916
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigjohn View Post
2009 casebook

ADVANTAGE GAINED ILLEGALLY
9.4.3 SITUATION E: (a) End A1 goes 5 yards downfield and stops. Wide receiver
A2 jumps on his back and catches a pass; or (b) B1 steps on the back of snapper
A1 immediately after the snap as he propels himself into the air to block a
punt; or (c) B1 jumps on B2’s shoulders in an effort to block a field-goal attempt.
RULING: A personal foul in (a), (b) and (c). In all cases, an advantage has been
gained illegally.
Since I can't see the video, I have to ask whether the player who blocked the kick appeared to propel himself into the air off the snapper's back (using the contact to gain or maintain altitude), or stepped on his back in an effort to get past him. The first would fit case (b) above, but the second would not be any of those cases. In other words, was the snapper's presence an advantage to the defender, or would he have been just as well (or better) off to have been able to plant that foot on the ground?

Robert
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 12, 2009, 10:21am
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,794
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Goodman View Post
Since I can't see the video, I have to ask whether the player who blocked the kick appeared to propel himself into the air off the snapper's back (using the contact to gain or maintain altitude), or stepped on his back in an effort to get past him. The first would fit case (b) above, but the second would not be any of those cases. In other words, was the snapper's presence an advantage to the defender, or would he have been just as well (or better) off to have been able to plant that foot on the ground?

Robert
I see it the second way. He came off the back and never used the step to gain an advantage other than a quick way through the line play.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 12, 2009, 02:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,153
ART. 6 . . . Roughing the snapper. A defensive player shall not charge directly
into the snapper when the offensive team is in a scrimmage-kick formation.


No way it is roughing the snapper!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
legal tip? cdhfsh Volleyball 2 Thu Oct 13, 2005 10:40am
Legal hit? zanzibar Volleyball 2 Tue Oct 04, 2005 10:34am
legal or not xxssmen Basketball 25 Sat Mar 13, 2004 02:59am
Is this legal? bacterium Basketball 29 Thu Apr 24, 2003 02:42am
Is This Legal? coachmjw Basketball 5 Mon Feb 24, 2003 11:22am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:01pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1