![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
How is this a trick formation? The defense can easily see who the eligibles are and can do whatever it is they need to do to deal with them. Does anyone truly think defenders and coaches are looking to see who the 5 ineligibles are?????? They only care about who IS eligible.
This formation is a legal SKF under the new rules and that will hopefully soon be made clear to everyone. What could be an issue (although could be rendered moot with a further tweak next year) is the situation where Team A is in a SK situation and shifts players after the snapper is on the ball. In the diagram Tom posted, assume the snapper (#56) gets on the ball. Team A realizes they are short and send #45 into the game, lining up as the right end. As he is doing that #80 shifts such that he is now on the end of the left side of the line. The team sets for a second and ball is snapped. Many (including Rom Gilbert) say there is a foul now as 80 needed to stay covered up as he became a numbering exception once the snapper got on the ball. I disagree but I am wrong, by rule. |
|
|||
|
While we (my study group) were discussing this formation it just was not clear in the rule wording whether A-24 is the exception or not because if he is the exception, he can't be on the end of the line. Some of us are not convinced one way or the other, and that's not good. The start of the season is not that far away, I want to know the ruling before it happens in a game.
|
|
|||
|
I disagree with you guys about it being a needed or welcome change. I agree 10 vs. 11 isn't an advantage, however I'm afraid this might open up an opportunity for a late player addition and shift that WOULD create an advantage. We will have to be diligent of the substitution rules in addition to this. I think it might have been better to write in an exception to the 7 man on the line rule if there were fewer than 11 players on the field on the play and no more than 4 in the backfield.
|
|
|||
|
If Team A subs late you are hoilding them up and letting Team B sub to match up so what is the advantage? And like I said, if the snapper is over the ball and there is a shift involving a numbering exception player, he still has to be in an ineligible position at the snap. Give us a play scenario where Team A gets an advantage as a result of this rule change.
|
|
|||
|
During a SK formation Rule 1-4-2b2 states that given the condition that "at the snap any and all such numbering-exception players must be on the line and may not be on the end of the line. Otherwise, Team A commits a foul for an illegal formation." Does this not indicate that you must have 7 men on the LOS at the snap if they are using the numbering exception. If 24 is lined up at a tackle position and he is on the end of the line it would be an illegal formation and also an ineligible receiver?
Last edited by actmiller; Mon Aug 03, 2009 at 01:22pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| NCAA Rule change? - Question #57 NCAA Test | ljudge | Football | 2 | Wed Jun 04, 2008 10:21am |
| NCAA Rule Change | Canfootball52 | Football | 6 | Tue Aug 21, 2007 08:25am |
| Help on NCAA rule change | Jesse James | Basketball | 1 | Wed Aug 30, 2006 06:27am |
| NCAA Men's Rule change and mechanics questions | ref0909 | Basketball | 6 | Sun Jul 13, 2003 04:43am |
| NCAA Rule Change | bob jenkins | Basketball | 1 | Thu Dec 28, 2000 07:20pm |