![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
The only way Team A would be eligible to block Team B before the ball goes 10 yards is if Team B comes forward and touches the ball in that first 10 yards. By doing that they "give permission" to Team A to block them. Great to hear you are continuing the move to NCAA rules from those NFL ones. |
|
|||
|
One thing I'd have to ask is what dvasques needs to do here. Is your job to translate the NCAA football rule book so you can present it as, "Here is the authentic current NCAA football rule book translated into Portugese."? Or are you operating as a "rules committee of 1", and just doing your own research? That is, do you have to "sell" the product to someone as, "Here is what has been formulated and tested by a large organiz'n for football?" Because if not, if you have nobody to answer to, why not just think it thru (preferably, but not necessarily, in consultation with others) and decide what makes sense for you, without regard to exactly what the existing rule book says?
For 80 years in American football, team B/R has been given opportunity to catch the free kicked ball, so that opp'ty is not to be interfered with. The different codes have slightly different criteria as to when that opportunity exists. In Canadian football there is no such opp'ty, but for over 50 years the receiving team but not the kicking team at a kickoff has been allowed to block before possession of the ball is gained. Why not just use that knowledge and formulate your own criteria? Robert in the Bronx |
|
|||
|
Just for the record, there does not appear to be any restriction againsts K blocking R before a grounded free kick has traveled past R's free kick line under the NFHS code.
If any free kick is touched by K, before it travels past the R free kick line, it is "first touching" and R will have the option to select possession at that point. (unless R touches the kick and thereafter during the down commits a foul, or if the penalty is accepted for any foul committed during the down. NF: 6.1.6) |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
You might look at NF:6.1.5, that advises; "Any K player may recover the ball before it goes beyond R's free kick line if it is touched first by any receiver. Such touching in the neutral zone by R is ignored if it is caused by K pushing or blocking R into contact with the ball or if K muffs the ball into contact with R."
|
|
|||
|
A new doubt, now on Rule 8
Rule 8-5-2 states:
After a safety is scored, the ball belongs to the defending team at it's own 20-yard line, and that team shall put the ball in play on or between the inbound lines by a free kick that may be a punt, drop kick or place kick (Exception: Extra period and try rules). ok... the safety os scored by the defending team. So shouldn't the offense be kicking the safety kick? Also, a place kick? Just like a kickoff? Sure, there's nothing allowing a tee to be used on the text of the rule, but there is nothing forbidding it either. And back in Rule 2 it says that safety kick is a free kick, and it says that a place kick on a free kick may be done with the use of a tee. Is that right? You can use a tee for safety kicks? |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
And later, we will make some more changes for our beach football (that has no pads and no drawns line on the ground). TXMike knows what I'm talking about... And thanks everyone for the responses. Really helpfull. |
|
|||
|
And now, a doubt on Rule 7
NCAA book, Rule 7-3-4 says:
No eligible offensive receiver who goes out of bounds during a down shall touch a legal forward pass in the field of play or end zones or while airborne until it has been touched by an oponent or official And Rule 7-3-5 says: When a Team B player or an official touches a legal forward pass, all players become eligible Now, I'm coming from NFL rules and, unless I'm mistaken, a Team A eligible player who's gone out of bounds would regain his eligibility once either an official, Team B player or another Team A eligible player touched the ball. Not like this in the NCAA? |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Correct. It has to be a Team B player or an official.
We are currently choosing our guys from the UK for the IFAF Pool (I'm on the Selection Committee) and notice that Brazil is on the list in the Email about it. So I can understand that you have an impetus to get changed over to NCAA Rules. Don't know the Head of IFAF Officiating myself, but I know his Assistants well. I've worked in EFAF with Einar and I've worked three games with Yoshiki who was at World Cup 99 in Sicily with me.
__________________
Sorry Death, you lose.... It was Professor Plum! |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Quote:
Robert in the Bronx |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| AAU Issues | AZ_REF | Basketball | 20 | Mon Apr 09, 2007 10:09pm |
| Money issues | Ohioref3 | Football | 5 | Fri Nov 11, 2005 05:26pm |
| 2 issues | PSU213 | Football | 2 | Sat Sep 18, 2004 02:02pm |
| Two issues | MOFFICIAL | Basketball | 5 | Fri Jan 09, 2004 07:45pm |
| Translation Please | APHP | Basketball | 11 | Tue Jan 29, 2002 09:35am |