The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 09, 2008, 03:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 14
Illegal Forward Pass Ruling in MIN-GB Game

I do not understand why there was a penalty for illegal forward pass on this play. For those who did not see it, here is what happened:

QB drops back, has ball knocked away by defensive player. Ball rolls into endzone. QB picks up ball and flings it in the direction of a receiver. Pass is incomplete. Referee rules illegal forward pass which obviously results in a safety.

I thought the only possible call that could be made on that play was intentional grounding. I did not see why the pass was illegal. Anyone know?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 09, 2008, 04:41pm
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Are you sure that the ruling wasn't that a legal forward pass has already been attempt prior to the pass that was ruled illegal?
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 09, 2008, 05:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by JugglingReferee View Post
Are you sure that the ruling wasn't that a legal forward pass has already been attempt prior to the pass that was ruled illegal?
Only one pass was thrown.

The play in question: YouTube - NFL week 10 2008 Green bay Packers Aaron Rodgers Safety Vs, Vikings
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 09, 2008, 05:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by JugglingReferee View Post
Are you sure that the ruling wasn't that a legal forward pass has already been attempt prior to the pass that was ruled illegal?
If there was already a legal forward pass, someone would have had to catch it for the play to continue, right?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 09, 2008, 05:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 923
I wondered the same thing. The receiver was definitely in the direction of the pass so I was surprised when I saw the flag. We he gave the signal and announced illegal forward pass and not intentional grounding, I assumed there was some aspect of the rule I did not know. As a Vikings fan I was happy about it though! Another strange Vikings game! They have found the strangest way to win games this year.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 09, 2008, 05:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
The foul had to be intentional grounding, mistakenly announced as illegal forward pass.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 09, 2008, 05:50pm
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
That was IG?

Wow....
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 09, 2008, 06:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
The foul had to be intentional grounding, mistakenly announced as illegal forward pass.
Intentional grounding is an illegal forward pass.

The pass did not make it back to the LOS, so even if he's outside the tackle box, it's still IG.

Previous obvious call IMO.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 09, 2008, 08:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NorCal
Posts: 338
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
The foul had to be intentional grounding, mistakenly announced as illegal forward pass.
No the referee gave the signal and said " illegal forward pass"
__________________
"My greatest fear is that when I die, my wife will sell my golf clubs for what I told her I paid for them."
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 10, 2008, 03:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: N.D.
Posts: 1,829
Quote:
Originally Posted by bisonlj View Post
I wondered the same thing. The receiver was definitely in the direction of the pass so I was surprised when I saw the flag. We he gave the signal and announced illegal forward pass and not intentional grounding, I assumed there was some aspect of the rule I did not know. As a Vikings fan I was happy about it though! Another strange Vikings game! They have found the strangest way to win games this year.
and lose.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 10, 2008, 08:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 1,130
He did not get out of the tackle box and the ball did not cross the line of scrimmage and from my understanding of the rule that criteria must be met.
__________________
Ed Hickland, MBA, CCP
[email protected]
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 10, 2008, 10:36pm
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ed Hickland View Post
He did not get out of the tackle box and the ball did not cross the line of scrimmage and from my understanding of the rule that criteria must be met.
He is SOOO close to being outside the tackle box, can they really be that accurate with an unmarked area of the field? It seems to me that a flag happy official would flag something right on the border.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 10, 2008, 11:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Texas
Posts: 762
Quote:
Originally Posted by JugglingReferee View Post
He is SOOO close to being outside the tackle box, .
That may be true, but the ball also has to cross the neutral zone.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 11, 2008, 05:10am
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by JasonTX View Post
That may be true, but the ball also has to cross the neutral zone.
Is the NFL rule that the ball must also reach the LS even if someone was in the area?
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 11, 2008, 05:17am
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Did anyone see the liberal "in the area" that Corrente caled last night? "There is no flag for IG, as the ball was thrown to #34."

In the MIN-GB game, the ball was < 5 yards from the potential receiver. In the MNF game last night, I believe that the eligible was > 5 yards from the ball hitting the ground, and the ball certainly looked like it was spiked into the ground. #34 didn't even make a play for the ball, whereas the eligible in the MIN-GB game did, and only needed a half-second more to actually get a finger on it.

I don't see how both can be correct calls.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Illegal Forward Pass? dldsooner Football 11 Sun Oct 28, 2007 10:47am
Illegal Forward Pass? nelson_28602 Football 12 Mon Oct 23, 2006 10:51am
Illegal forward pass goldcoastump Football 2 Mon Nov 01, 2004 12:01pm
Illegal forward pass Rich Football 9 Fri Sep 03, 2004 09:02pm
Pass Interference on an Illegal Forward Pass OverAndBack Football 8 Mon Aug 23, 2004 03:11pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:01pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1