The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 28, 2008, 08:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 9
The rules say touchdown

NCAA Rules

They define the 2 pylons at the goal line as in the end zone. Why, who knows.

End Zones
ARTICLE 3. The end zones are the 10-yard areas at both ends of the field
between the end lines and the goal lines. The goal lines and goal line pylons
are in the end zone
, and a team’s end zone is the one it is defending (A.R.
8-5-1-X and A.R. 8-6-1-I).


There is an exception for the end zone in determining if a pass is completed.
Notice a player does not need to be inbounds to determine a completed pass in the end zone which from the replay he appeared to be in the end zone.
There appear to be different rules for a pass caught in the end zone.

Completed Pass
ARTICLE 6. Any forward pass is completed when caught by a player of the
passing team who is inbounds, and the ball continues in play unless completed
in the opponent’s end zone
or the pass has been caught simultaneously
by opposing players. If a forward pass is caught simultaneously by opposing
players inbounds, the ball becomes dead and belongs to the passing team (Rule
2-2-7) (A.R. 2-2-7-III and A.R. 7-3-6-I-IX).

He was in the end zone when his forward progress was stopped with frim control of the ball.
I don't see anywhere it says for a pass caught in the end zone a player has to come down in bounds only that his progress has to be stopped in the end zone. Reminder they have defined that the "goal line pylons are in the end zone". These are special magical pylons with a power of their own. In a bowl game between navy and utah the ncaa made a statement that the pylons are both in the end zone and out of bounds. (huh !!!).

"The ball was fumbled forward and hit the pylon. The pylon is out of bounds and also in the end zone," read an official statement from the officiating crew, citing Rule 8, Section 6, Article 1, Item 1 in the NCAA college football rule book. "There was a mistake made. It should have been ruled a touchback and the ball should have been placed at the 20-yard line."


Incompleted Pass
ARTICLE 7. a. Any forward pass is incomplete if the ball is out of bounds by
rule or if it touches the ground when not firmly controlled by a player. It also is
incomplete when a player leaves his feet and receives the pass but first lands on
or outside a boundary line, unless his progress has been stopped in the field of
play or end zone
(Rule 4-1-3-p) (A.R. 2-2-7-III and A.R. 7-3-7-I).


This rule stopped his progress after it was a complete pass by rule. Since he was in the end zone with clear possession of the ball it should be a touchdown since his progress had the ball in the end zone.
He was both out of bounds and in the end zone.

ARTICLE 1. a. A player or an airborne player is out of bounds when any
part of his person touches anything, other than another player or game
official, on or outside a boundary line (A.R. 4-2-1-I and II).
b. A player or an airborne player who touches a pylon is out of bounds.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 28, 2008, 08:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,305
before I start into this with you...do you officiate under NCAA rules or are you just pulling out a bunch of language that you are trying to use (incorrectly) to "prove" a point?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 28, 2008, 08:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by TXMike View Post
before I start into this with you...do you officiate under NCAA rules or are you just pulling out a bunch of language that you are trying to use (incorrectly) to "prove" a point?
No not an official just wondering. Just like all the people pulling one line from the rule book claiming it is the only thing under consideration. I'm no different and don't expect much from MSU fans but would like an officials opinion.

The rules seem to indicate that a completed pass in the end zone should be a touchdown.

The only requirement appears to be having progress stopped in the end zone.

Since the pylon is in the end zone and out of bounds his progress was stopped(by touching the pylon) in the end zone(by being in the end zone).
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 28, 2008, 09:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Texas
Posts: 762
Quote:
Originally Posted by zenman View Post
The only requirement appears to be having progress stopped in the end zone.

Since the pylon is in the end zone and out of bounds his progress was stopped(by touching the pylon) in the end zone(by being in the end zone).
As stated, an airborne player touching a pylon is out of bounds and the pass is incomplete. Forward progress is a term indicating the end of advancement. Forward progress was not yet stopped in this play. He was still going forward. Notice in the AR's that I posted all involve a defensive player. A defensive player has to be the one stopping a players forward progress.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 30, 2008, 06:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by JasonTX View Post
As stated, an airborne player touching a pylon is out of bounds and the pass is incomplete. Forward progress is a term indicating the end of advancement. Forward progress was not yet stopped in this play. He was still going forward. Notice in the AR's that I posted all involve a defensive player. A defensive player has to be the one stopping a players forward progress.
His progress stopped when he hit the pylon. Anytime you are ruled out of bounds your progress is stopped. And in this case he is by definition in the end zone and since an airborne receiver whos progress is stopped in the end zone with a firm grip on the ball which seems to be all that is required. I would agree that it was not a touchdown if he hit or was outside of the boundry line when his progress was stopped but he was clearly by all of the rules I could find in the end zone. Just like in the navy utah bowl game a fumble that hit the pylon even though it did not go past the goal line was incorrectly ruled down at the one yard line. It should have ruled a touchback since the pylons are in the end zone. Which is what the NCAA said.

The ref in this game must have read the rule book and I wish that Delany would also.

The exceptions for completed and incomplete rules in the end zone were put in for a reason just as the definition that the end zone includes the pylons on the goal line for a reason. If plays like this should not be ruled a touchdown the rules committee should rewrite them.

I laughed as soon as they reviewed the play during the game because I new he was judging the play by the rule book and most people who have never read the rule book would never agree. It defied common sense but sometimes rules do.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 30, 2008, 06:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,305
You clearly are a rules expert and are wasting your time here Why not contact Delaney and the Big Ten direct and let them know you are available to straighten them (and every other person who actualy understands NCAA Rules) out:
James E. Delany
Commissioner
1500 West Higgins Road
Park Ridge, IL 60068-6300
(847) 696-1010
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 30, 2008, 10:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Texas
Posts: 762
Quote:
Originally Posted by zenman View Post
His progress stopped when he hit the pylon. Anytime you are ruled out of bounds your progress is stopped. And in this case he is by definition in the end zone and since an airborne receiver whos progress is stopped in the end zone with a firm grip on the ball which seems to be all that is required. I would agree that it was not a touchdown if he hit or was outside of the boundry line when his progress was stopped but he was clearly by all of the rules I could find in the end zone. Just like in the navy utah bowl game a fumble that hit the pylon even though it did not go past the goal line was incorrectly ruled down at the one yard line. It should have ruled a touchback since the pylons are in the end zone. Which is what the NCAA said.

The ref in this game must have read the rule book and I wish that Delany would also.

The exceptions for completed and incomplete rules in the end zone were put in for a reason just as the definition that the end zone includes the pylons on the goal line for a reason. If plays like this should not be ruled a touchdown the rules committee should rewrite them.

I laughed as soon as they reviewed the play during the game because I new he was judging the play by the rule book and most people who have never read the rule book would never agree. It defied common sense but sometimes rules do.
Did you not even read the rule that states "an airborne player is out of bounds when he touches a pylon". There is not other rule that can trump that. Every rule in the book requires a player to COMPLETE the catch. By rule, to complete a catch you have to have firm control of the football AND some part of your body touching the ground (not the pylon) INBOUNDS. Again, the rule states that an airborne player is out of bounds NOT INBOUNDS when he touches the pylon. It appears however that you don't believe what the book says and I suspect you would argue with God over the words in the Bible.

Last edited by JasonTX; Thu Oct 30, 2008 at 10:25pm.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 31, 2008, 04:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 204
Jason:
I expect he would have more success arguing the wording in the Bible - there are a lot of different translations of that book. Various organizations each claim theirs is the 'correct' version.
With the Rulebook, it is covered by 1 organization and 1 release that is valid (the current edition). Less wiggle room.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 31, 2008, 09:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 747
Quote:
Originally Posted by zenman View Post

The rules seem to indicate that a completed pass in the end zone should be a touchdown.
The rules in the end zone still require a receiver to come down with at least one foot in bounds
Quote:
The only requirement appears to be having progress stopped in the end zone.

Since the pylon is in the end zone and out of bounds his progress was stopped(by touching the pylon) in the end zone(by being in the end zone).
Progress can only be stopped by another player who prevents the player from touching the ground in the end zone. And this is not to be confused with causing an airborne player to land out of bounds. That results in an incomplete pass.

Despite your attempt to make the rules say what they do not, the picture of the play in question defies all your attempts to argue that black is white.

http://cmsimg.freep.com/apps/pbcsi.d...xH=650&title=0
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 02, 2008, 05:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimpiano View Post
The rules in the end zone still require a receiver to come down with at least one foot in bounds


Progress can only be stopped by another player who prevents the player from touching the ground in the end zone. And this is not to be confused with causing an airborne player to land out of bounds. That results in an incomplete pass.

Despite your attempt to make the rules say what they do not, the picture of the play in question defies all your attempts to argue that black is white.

http://cmsimg.freep.com/apps/pbcsi.d...xH=650&title=0

ARTICLE 4. a. If a live ball is declared out of bounds and the ball does not
cross a boundary line, it is out of bounds at the ball’s most forward point
when it was declared dead (A.R. 4-2-4-I) (Exception: Rule 8-5-1-a, A.R.
8-5-1-I).

Incompleted Pass
ARTICLE 7. a. Any forward pass is incomplete if the ball is out of bounds by
rule or if it touches the ground when not firmly controlled by a player. It also is
incomplete when a player leaves his feet and receives the pass but first lands on
or outside a boundary line, unless his progress has been stopped in the field of
play or end zone
(Rule 4-1-3-p) (A.R. 2-2-7-III and A.R. 7-3-7-I).
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 02, 2008, 06:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Texas
Posts: 762
Quote:
Originally Posted by zenman View Post
ARTICLE 4. a. If a live ball is declared out of bounds and the ball does not
cross a boundary line, it is out of bounds at the ball’s most forward point
when it was declared dead (A.R. 4-2-4-I) (Exception: Rule 8-5-1-a, A.R.
8-5-1-I).

Incompleted Pass
ARTICLE 7. a. Any forward pass is incomplete if the ball is out of bounds by
rule or if it touches the ground when not firmly controlled by a player. It also is
incomplete when a player leaves his feet and receives the pass but first lands on
or outside a boundary line, unless his progress has been stopped in the field of
play or end zone
(Rule 4-1-3-p) (A.R. 2-2-7-III and A.R. 7-3-7-I).
SECTION 2. Touchdown
How Scored
ARTICLE 1. A touchdown shall be scored when:
a. A runner advancing from the field of play is legally in possession of a live
ball when it penetrates the opponent’s goal line (plane) (Exception: Rule
4-2-4-e) (A.R. 2-23-1-I and A.R. 8-2-1-I-IV).
b. An eligible receiver catches a legal forward pass in the opponent’s end
zone (A.R. 5-1-3-I and II).


Now look at the definition of catch.

To catch, intercept or recover a ball, a player who leaves his feet to
make a catch, interception or recovery must have the ball firmly in his
possession when he first returns to the ground inbounds with any part of his body or is so held that the dead-ball provisions of Rule 4-1-3-p apply.

From page FR-81: b. A player or an airborne player who touches a pylon is out of bounds.

Now what is all this about 4-1-3-p that you keep claiming to trump all this. If you notice that is the rule that your post uses as a reference as well as mine.

Here it is:
When an airborne pass receiver from either team is so held and
subsequently carried that he is prevented from immediately returning to
the ground.

You see, in the play in question, that player WAS NOT held or carried that it prevented him from coming to the ground. He was simply pushed and hit the pylon before touching the ground inbounds. Incomplete Pass.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 02, 2008, 07:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,305
WHy do you guys waste your time? The zenman is cearly in another zone and his alternative reality makes this a TD He is so wrapped up over the "fact" that the pylon is "in the EZ" he cannot see the fact that it is OUT OF BOUNDS. In his mind, the receiver came to ground in the end zone..period. Fortunately for everyone he is not officiating football at any level.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 02, 2008, 11:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 9
[QUOTE=JasonTX;548088]SECTION 2. Touchdown
How Scored
ARTICLE 1. A touchdown shall be scored when:
a. A runner advancing from the field of play is legally in possession of a live
ball when it penetrates the opponent’s goal line (plane) (Exception: Rule
4-2-4-e) (A.R. 2-23-1-I and A.R. 8-2-1-I-IV).
b. An eligible receiver catches a legal forward pass in the opponent’s end
zone (A.R. 5-1-3-I and II).


Now look at the definition of catch.

To catch, intercept or recover a ball, a player who leaves his feet to
make a catch, interception or recovery must have the ball firmly in his
possession when he first returns to the ground inbounds with any part of his body or is so held that the dead-ball provisions of Rule 4-1-3-p apply.

From page FR-81: b. A player or an airborne player who touches a pylon is out of bounds.

Thanks this is what I was trying to find out since the rules for complete or incomplete pass was not that clear.

I did not see the exception in the end zone was the player had to be held.
or is so held that the dead-ball provisions of Rule 4-1-3-p apply

The incomplete pass said unless his progress has been stopped in the field of
play or end zone. The reference attached contained the exception.

I knew he had not touched the boundry line and since the pylon was in the end zone it seemed to indicate that all that was needed was for his progress to be stopped in the end zone.


Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 02, 2008, 08:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 747
Quote:
Originally Posted by zenman View Post
ARTICLE 4. a. If a live ball is declared out of bounds and the ball does not
cross a boundary line, it is out of bounds at the ball’s most forward point
when it was declared dead (A.R. 4-2-4-I) (Exception: Rule 8-5-1-a, A.R.
8-5-1-I).

Incompleted Pass
ARTICLE 7. a. Any forward pass is incomplete if the ball is out of bounds by
rule or if it touches the ground when not firmly controlled by a player. It also is
incomplete when a player leaves his feet and receives the pass but first lands on
or outside a boundary line, unless his progress has been stopped in the field of
play or end zone
(Rule 4-1-3-p) (A.R. 2-2-7-III and A.R. 7-3-7-I).
Neither citations are pertinent to the play in question.

Next?
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 29, 2008, 12:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 373
Quote:
Originally Posted by msavakinas View Post
you are referring to the "zenman's" post correct?..

because I don't even officiate football anymore... I just sit in the student section on Saturdays at the best college football stadium in the country as a fan.
Too bad they ain't even close to having a decent football team play in the so called "best college football stadium in the country".
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wisc/Mich 4th and short PSU213 Football 7 Sun Sep 28, 2008 05:05pm
Mich St / Indiana tjones1 Basketball 16 Wed Mar 05, 2008 09:07am
Mich/Minn ? kd0254 Basketball 2 Fri Mar 10, 2006 12:27pm
Gonzaga/Mich St. in Maui ChuckElias Basketball 7 Wed Nov 23, 2005 03:51pm
Duke Mich St 4.2 secs justacoach Basketball 7 Fri Mar 25, 2005 09:39pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:11pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1