The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Mich St/ Mich (https://forum.officiating.com/football/49530-mich-st-mich.html)

STEVED21 Sat Oct 25, 2008 07:39pm

Mich St/ Mich
 
Can anyone who knows NCAA rule explain the 1st Mich TD? The receiver's first contact was with the pylon which I thought would be OB. We were in an adult beverage establishment for our postgame and had no sound. It appeared that Witovet( I think) said it was a TD because he hit the pylon. I know that if the ball hits the pylon, it's a TD as it is on the GL, but this explaination seemed puzzling.

I'm pretty sure HS rules are different.

bluezebra Sat Oct 25, 2008 08:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by STEVED21 (Post 545792)
Can anyone who knows NCAA rule explain the 1st Mich TD? The receiver's first contact was with the pylon which I thought would be OB. We were in an adult beverage establishment for our postgame and had no sound. It appeared that Witovet( I think) said it was a TD because he hit the pylon. I know that if the ball hits the pylon, it's a TD as it is on the GL, but this explaination seemed puzzling.

I'm pretty sure HS rules are different.

In ALL three rule books, FED, NCAA and NFL, the pylons are considered part of the goal line.

Bob

JRutledge Sat Oct 25, 2008 08:56pm

I did not see the play so I need some clarification. What exactly contacted the pylon? The ball? A part of the player's body?

This could be a TD based on a lot of things. It could be just an out of bounds play based on what touches the pylon.

The pylon is considered out of bounds, but the pylon is also in the end zone (if placed properly).

Peace

STEVED21 Sat Oct 25, 2008 09:30pm

His foot landed on the pylon and no other part of his body touched anything inbounds.

JRutledge Sat Oct 25, 2008 09:48pm

Then that is an incomplete pass. The only thing that could make that a completed pass is if they were dragged out of bounds while airborne on the pass. At least that was the NCAA Rule. I am not sure that changed.

Peace

LDUB Sat Oct 25, 2008 10:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bluezebra (Post 545801)
In ALL three rule books, FED, NCAA and NFL, the pylons are considered part of the goal line.

Bob

No, the pylon is an object which marks the intersection of the goal line and sideline. It is not part of the goal line. What happens when a player or ball touches the pylon depends on the situation.

JRutledge Sat Oct 25, 2008 11:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by LDUB (Post 545845)
No, the pylon is an object which marks the intersection of the goal line and sideline. It is not part of the goal line. What happens when a player or ball touches the pylon depends on the situation.

The pylon is considered out of bounds and in the end zone. I cannot think of a time that you hit the pylon (on the goal line) where you are not considered in the end zone. The issue is whether there is a touchdown, touchback or safety or down short of the end zone based on what touches the pylon.

Peace

LDUB Sat Oct 25, 2008 11:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 545857)
The pylon is considered out of bounds and in the end zone. I cannot think of a time that you hit the pylon (on the goal line) where you are not considered in the end zone. The issue is whether there is a touchdown, touchback or safety or down short of the end zone based on what touches the pylon.

Peace

That is the point. To say that the pylon is part of the goal line is confusing. The goal line is painted on the field and is in bounds. The pylon is out of bounds.

Bad Mood Risin Sun Oct 26, 2008 12:16am

interesting
 
It was called no catch on the field. Other than hitting the pylon, nothing came down in bounds. I was rooting for Michigan and I couldnt believe it was being reviewed because it wasn't close. I was stunned by the overturn.

The sideline reporter asked MSU's coach at halftime what the explaination was from the referee and the coach said all the R told him was to please remember no official on the field called it a TD and no one on the field was responsible for that ruling. If that's true, it's quite and indictment.

STEVED21 Sun Oct 26, 2008 06:15am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bad Mood Risin (Post 545868)
It was called no catch on the field. Other than hitting the pylon, nothing came down in bounds. I was rooting for Michigan and I couldnt believe it was being reviewed because it wasn't close. I was stunned by the overturn.

The sideline reporter asked MSU's coach at halftime what the explaination was from the referee and the coach said all the R told him was to please remember no official on the field called it a TD and no one on the field was responsible for that ruling. If that's true, it's quite and indictment.

That's why I asked the question. I too was stunned at the reversal.

jimpiano Sun Oct 26, 2008 08:09am

Quote:

Originally Posted by STEVED21 (Post 545894)
That's why I asked the question. I too was stunned at the reversal.

I thought instant replay was instituted to correct missed calls, not change correct calls.

Wonder what the conversation between the Referee and the Replay booth was like on that one?

TXMike Sun Oct 26, 2008 08:12am

Only video I have found so far (might want to mute the volume)

YouTube - MSU vs Michigan (2008 rivalry!!) 35-21 MSU

Brett Sun Oct 26, 2008 08:45am

Looked like his left toe tapped in but his right foot was already down OOB. Interesting overturn and more interesting explanation.

Forksref Sun Oct 26, 2008 10:35am

That would be tough to be a WH and have your reputation affected by the decision of a hidden replay official.

At least in the NFL the WH gets to make his own decision.

With_Two_Flakes Sun Oct 26, 2008 10:57am

We work NCAA Rules here in the UK.

My understanding is that,

If a runner with possession of the ball dives for the pylon and the ball hits the pylon - TD. The pylon is in the EZ and OOB. I guess the philosophy is that the ball breaks the plane of the GL before being OOB.

If a player gets the ball while he is airborne, then the catch is not complete until he comes down inbounds (and maintains possession of the ball). If the player comes down and first contact is with the pylon, then he is OOB. I guess the philosophy difference from the running play example is that the airborne receiver does not have possession when he breaks the plane.

I've watched the (poor quality YouTube) film and the FJ was in a good position to rule on it, and I think he got it right. Not sure what rationale the Reply booth might have had to overrule the FJ. Perhaps the BigTen will make a statement subsequently.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:46am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1