The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 15, 2008, 03:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,305
What NCAA rule are you referring to? If it is the recent AR about an airborne player possessing the ball and landing OOB it does not apply if you judge his left foot came down inbounds first
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 15, 2008, 09:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 747
Quote:
Originally Posted by TXMike View Post
What NCAA rule are you referring to? If it is the recent AR about an airborne player possessing the ball and landing OOB it does not apply if you judge his left foot came down inbounds first
That is the rule. The player was in the act of catching the ball and in doing so landed out of bounds. It is just that simple.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 15, 2008, 10:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 508
How is he "in the act of catching" when his foot touches inbounds thereby completing the catch?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 15, 2008, 11:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 747
Quote:
Originally Posted by parepat View Post
How is he "in the act of catching" when his foot touches inbounds thereby completing the catch?
What does "one foot in bounds" have to do with fielding a free kick? This is not a forward pass. The officials on the field called it out of bounds and the call was upheld upon review.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 15, 2008, 12:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 508
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimpiano View Post
What does "one foot in bounds" have to do with fielding a free kick? This is not a forward pass. The officials on the field called it out of bounds and the call was upheld upon review.
I was quoting YOU in case you missed it.

What does the call on the field have to do with our view of the video and discussion of the play?

I saw the player possess (or as you would say "catch") the kick in the field of play and then step out of bounds. How do others see this video?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 15, 2008, 01:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,305
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimpiano View Post
That is the rule. The player was in the act of catching the ball and in doing so landed out of bounds. It is just that simple.
That rule applies to an airborne player who lands first OOB. It does not address one who lands with a left foot down in bounds before hs right foot comes down OOB.

In the act of catching, he "touched" I hope you will agree? And if he "touched" while his left foot was on the ground inbounds, even if his right foot then touched OOB, would you not agree it was touched by B before going OOB?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 15, 2008, 03:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 747
Quote:
Originally Posted by TXMike View Post
That rule applies to an airborne player who lands first OOB. It does not address one who lands with a left foot down in bounds before hs right foot comes down OOB.

In the act of catching, he "touched" I hope you will agree? And if he "touched" while his left foot was on the ground inbounds, even if his right foot then touched OOB, would you not agree it was touched by B before going OOB?
No, i would rule that he caught the ball out of bounds, since one foot was out of bounds, even if it did not touch in unison with his other foot. Why is this so hard to understand? The officials had no problem seeing it that way.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 15, 2008, 06:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,305
It does not matter where the ball was "caught" It matters what the status of the player was when he was "touching" the ball. And if he had one foot inbounds and nothing touching out of bounds, he was INBOUNDS. And if he was INBOUNDS and TOUCHING the ball, there can be NO fould for kick OOB
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 15, 2008, 07:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 747
Quote:
Originally Posted by TXMike View Post
It does not matter where the ball was "caught" It matters what the status of the player was when he was "touching" the ball. And if he had one foot inbounds and nothing touching out of bounds, he was INBOUNDS. And if he was INBOUNDS and TOUCHING the ball, there can be NO fould for kick OOB
Seems yours is a minority opinion.
In light of what actually happened I wonder how you will explain it if you call it that way.

My guess is that replay will change it.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 15, 2008, 07:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,305
Do you even know the NCAA rules?
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 15, 2008, 07:18pm
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimpiano View Post
Seems yours is a minority opinion.
No, it's not. This is a very basic rule. If an inbounds R player touches a kick before the kick goes out of bounds, it is not a foul for free kick out of bounds. Its the same in both Federation and the NCAA.

I do not believe video is conclusive as to what happened here, so it is based upon the judgment of the official on the field.

Mike, was this play reviewed? I didn't see this part of the game.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 15, 2008, 07:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Texas
Posts: 762
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimpiano View Post
Seems yours is a minority opinion.
In light of what actually happened I wonder how you will explain it if you call it that way.

My guess is that replay will change it.
The first foot was inbounds and the ball was touched by the Team B player, therefore is should not be a foul. Was the ball touched? Yes. Was that player who touched the ball inbounds? Yes.

Below is the rule copied and pasted from the NCAA rules. As you can see the ball must be UNTOUCHED (not touched) by team B. In this play it was touched.

SECTION 2. Free Kick Out of Bounds
Kicking Team
ARTICLE 1. A free kick out of bounds between the goal lines untouched by an
inbounds player of Team B is a foul.

Last edited by JasonTX; Wed Oct 15, 2008 at 07:24pm. Reason: adding more to post
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Play at plate video chuckfan1 Baseball 36 Thu Mar 20, 2008 07:41pm
Out or safe? Video Play SouthGARef Baseball 26 Thu Mar 29, 2007 12:29pm
Video play Snake~eyes Football 9 Tue Dec 05, 2006 08:31am
Video Play 2 - WR hold TerpZebra Football 20 Fri Oct 13, 2006 11:02am
video play crew Basketball 9 Mon Jul 15, 2002 03:58pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:59pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1