The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Aug 30, 2008, 05:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,915
Quote:
Originally Posted by dumbref
NF - Assuming A10 is not set in a a three point stance, he may shift to a position in the back field. But he still must be set for one second before the snap - illegal shift.
But does that comport with Fed's definition of "shift"? Only 1 player moved, and backward.

Fed doesn't have a time requirement to establish position in the backfield, either IIRC, just a momentary "set", so it's not illegal formation either. Of course in the <1 sec. he had to become still, you may not have seen him as "set".

Robert
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Aug 30, 2008, 09:41pm
MJT MJT is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Alton, Iowa
Posts: 1,796
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Goodman
But does that comport with Fed's definition of "shift"? Only 1 player moved, and backward.

Fed doesn't have a time requirement to establish position in the backfield, either IIRC, just a momentary "set", so it's not illegal formation either. Of course in the <1 sec. he had to become still, you may not have seen him as "set".

Robert
2-39 Shift: A shift is the action of one or more off players who, after a huddle or after taking set positions , move to a new set position before the ensuing snap.

Robert, how are you thinking it is not an illegal shift?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Aug 30, 2008, 10:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 81
Fed Rules: A10 could be in motion at the snap, but he must be at least five yards deep if he did not estabilish himself as a back. Sounds like you have an illegal shift.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Aug 30, 2008, 10:30pm
MJT MJT is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Alton, Iowa
Posts: 1,796
Quote:
Originally Posted by verticalStripes
Fed Rules: A10 could be in motion at the snap, but he must be at least five yards deep if he did not estabilish himself as a back. Sounds like you have an illegal shift.
If he is set, but not yet set for one second, he is not in motion, and the shift is not completed, thus an illegal shift.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 31, 2008, 10:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 622
Quote:
Originally Posted by verticalStripes
Fed Rules: A10 could be in motion at the snap, but he must be at least five yards deep if he did not estabilish himself as a back. Sounds like you have an illegal shift.
Being 5 yds deep if he didn't establish himself is a quote of the illegal motion rule, not illegal shift.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 31, 2008, 06:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Alabama
Posts: 226
I concede that this could also be considered illegal motion under 7-2-7. I think the way I would justify the difference is if A10 continues his motion and is not at least 5yards behind the LOS – illegal motion. If he just steps back just as the ball is snapped but does not get set – illegal shift.

We’re probably swatting at knats to argue which – It’s more important we agree this is a foul at the snap. The results are prety much the same.
__________________
Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 31, 2008, 07:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,915
Quote:
Originally Posted by MJT
2-39 Shift: A shift is the action of one or more off players who, after a huddle or after taking set positions , move to a new set position before the ensuing snap.

Robert, how are you thinking it is not an illegal shift?
Because I was using an outdated Fed definition. For a while a 1-player shift pertained only to a move forward.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 01, 2008, 10:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,193
Under NCAA, this would be a penalty, but illegal motion. We *might* call this a false start and shut it down.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 01, 2008, 04:38pm
(Something hilarious)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: These United States
Posts: 1,162
Illegal motion. A player who takes a position as a lineman and then goes in motion must be at least 5 yards behind the line of scrimmage at the snap.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 02, 2008, 10:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Clinton Township, NJ
Posts: 2,065
REPLY: For Fed, this could not be illegal motion since the OP implies that A10 had stopped moving but that the snap ensued less than the required one second later. Since he stopped, it was a shift. Since he was not motionless for 1 second prior to the snap, that shift was illegal.
__________________
Bob M.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 02, 2008, 11:19pm
(Something hilarious)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: These United States
Posts: 1,162
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob M.
REPLY: For Fed, this could not be illegal motion since the OP implies that A10 had stopped moving but that the snap ensued less than the required one second later. Since he stopped, it was a shift. Since he was not motionless for 1 second prior to the snap, that shift was illegal.
I'm tired, but don't we need at least two people for an illegal shift?

Illegal Motion - 7-2-7-Penalty, verbatim.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Illegal Shift - Need Clarification coachd Football 12 Tue Oct 09, 2007 03:04pm
Illegal shift question Smiley Football 9 Thu Oct 05, 2006 08:22pm
Illegal Shift? fballrefinwa Football 2 Sun Sep 10, 2006 11:34am
Illegal Motion or Illegal Shift Simbio Football 11 Fri Oct 31, 2003 08:50pm
QB Shift OK or Illegal Procedure?? BoBo Football 1 Mon Oct 07, 2002 01:45pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:06am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1