The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 25, 2007, 01:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 132
Offensive Pass Interference on 4th Down

Federation Rules.

With 6 minutes left in the 4th quarter, A has the ball 4 and 10 from the B35 yard line. A80 commits offensive pass interference in the endzone then catches the ball in the endzone for an apparent score. What is the ruling?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 25, 2007, 02:01pm
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
In Federation rules, Offensive Pass Interference is a 15 yard penalty and a loss of down, enforced from the previous spot. The penalty in this play would result in 1st and 10 for B at the 50 and the touchdown is obviously negated.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 25, 2007, 02:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 132
I agree, and that's how our crew enforced it yesterday, however, one of our fellow officials disagreed with us today, and I thought it would put it out there for discussion to see if anyone would have anything different.

Simbio
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 25, 2007, 02:07pm
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
Out of curiosity, how did he think it should have been enforced?
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 25, 2007, 02:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 132
His statement was that of the football fundamental "No penalty causes loss of ball."
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 25, 2007, 02:14pm
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
Interesting argument but technically, I don't think it is the foul that directly caused the ball the be lost. The foul only specifies that the offense loses a down, so A lost the football because they turned it over on downs, not because they committed a penalty.

I think what the fundamental is saying is that no foul can directly award possesion of the football to the other team but I could be wrong.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 25, 2007, 02:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Bucks County, PA
Posts: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by Simbio
His statement was that of the football fundamental "No penalty causes loss of ball."
"Loss of down" only means that A to loses the right to replay the down. They still need to make the line to gain after the penalty is administered. In your scenario, they did not make the line to gain after enforcement of the penalty, so A loses the ball on downs. It is not the foul itself that causes the turnover.

Here's a similar scenario that involves a penalty and LOD...

4th & 5 @ A30. A5 Runs for 10 yards and throws and Illegal Forward Pass @ 40.

After the enforcement of the penalty, A still makes the line to gain. It is 1st & 10 for A @ A35, not 2nd & 10. A doesn't lose an actual down in the series.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 26, 2007, 11:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,910
Quote:
Originally Posted by Simbio
His statement was that of the football fundamental "No penalty causes loss of ball."
They probably should delete that statement because it's too facile.

What about illegal touch by K of their free kick in the neutral zone? K was last to possess the ball before the touching, and the down may even have ended with a K player in possession of the ball. The penalty causes loss of ball by any simple reading of those words.

Robert
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 25, 2007, 03:42pm
Ref Ump Welsch
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Simbio
Federation Rules.

With 6 minutes left in the 4th quarter, A has the ball 4 and 10 from the B35 yard line. A80 commits offensive pass interference in the endzone then catches the ball in the endzone for an apparent score. What is the ruling?
We had the exact same sit twice this year. One was on a 4th down play, and the other was on a 2-point conversion. Both times, they were committed by the team that had a considerable lead. Incredible how it can happen at those times.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 25, 2007, 04:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Flagstaff, Arizona
Posts: 3
Send a message via AIM to NorthernAZRef Send a message via MSN to NorthernAZRef
That's funny, I had the exact same sitch this past week as well. Coach wanted the down replayed and as WH I went and explained that the loss of down awarded the ball over to B. He didn't get it, but didn't surprise me because before the game in the conference he asked me if it was legal to dropkick or chop block down field. Had to laugh about that.
__________________
Patrick Walker
AIA A6
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 25, 2007, 05:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: MSN
Posts: 224
Wow, we had it on Friday too!!
Had to slap my crew around to wake them up for the enforcement.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 26, 2007, 08:06am
Ref Ump Welsch
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by MadCityRef
Wow, we had it on Friday too!!
Had to slap my crew around to wake them up for the enforcement.
I didn't have to slap my crew for the enforcement. We knew what we were doing. The coaches needed the slapping. Both times, the head coaches of the offending team were on my sideline. (I'm HL by the way) The one that lost the ball on 4th down was asking why it wasn't a replay of 4th down. I explained to him OPI is 15 and a loss of down, and since it was 4th down and they failed to meet the line to gain, they lose the ball. He tried the line about no penalty causes the ball to be lost, and I told him that's true, but this was 4th down, and you failed to gain a first down. He and his assistants were standing there trying to figure out how it can be. I just went on my business as usual.

The one that lost it on the 2-point conversion at first was puzzled as to what we were doing, taking it away from them and enforcing the 15 on the kickoff. I explained to him it's OPI and a loss of down so therefore they couldn't do the try and it has to be enforced on the kickoff since the try can't be redone. At first, he gave me a funny look like my explanation was all over the place and then he realized it. Loss of down, you got the call right. Sorry, lost my head there for a moment. I said, no problem coach. (BTW, this coach is the winningest coach in 8-man ball currently and probably historically in Nebraska and probably the winningest in state history and currently percentage wise-he's a real class act with a team that's always high on my sportsmanship list)
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 25, 2007, 10:22pm
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Lightbulb Canadian Ruling

Quote:
Originally Posted by Simbio
Federation Rules.

With 6 minutes left in the 4th quarter, A has the ball 4 and 10 from the B35 yard line. A80 commits offensive pass interference in the endzone then catches the ball in the endzone for an apparent score. What is the ruling?
CANADIAN RULING:

No LD here; just 15 yards. A 4D/25 @ B-50.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 25, 2007, 11:20pm
I Bleed Crimson
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 477
Quote:
Originally Posted by JugglingReferee
CANADIAN RULING:

No LD here; just 15 yards. A 4D/25 @ B-50.
There's a 4th down in Canadian?
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 26, 2007, 03:58am
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by Suudy
There's a 4th down in Canadian?
I think your sentence is missing a subject.

I think you meant to say, "There's a 4th down in Canadian football?"

But yes, you are correct - normally there is not a 4th down up here. If a play needs to be modified for field position because it involves the US 50 yard line, I mention it. I should do the same if a play involves a 4th down.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Offensive Pass Interference BuggBob Football 24 Thu Oct 18, 2007 10:48pm
offensive pass interference jakem Football 14 Wed Jul 20, 2005 03:40pm
4th &1 offensive pass interference timharris Football 11 Thu Nov 04, 2004 12:18pm
offensive pass interference on 4th down timharris Football 6 Mon Nov 24, 2003 02:00pm
Offensive Pass Interference Smoke Football 4 Sat Sep 23, 2000 10:39pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:47pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1