The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 25, 2007, 12:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 25
7-5-1 (Fed) states that if both feet of the passer are in or behind the neutral zone when the ball is released, it is a legal forward pass, as long as the other requirements are met. Whether he was previously beyond the neutral zone isn't addressed, so since it isn't against the rules, it must be legal. So "f" is the correct answer, and A would accept the penalty and probably enforce it on the kickoff.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 25, 2007, 12:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 321
what he said.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 25, 2007, 01:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,193
NCAA: b, d, and e are correct.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 25, 2007, 03:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Cheyenne, wyoming
Posts: 1,493
I don't know about that

I am not sure that E is correct in NCAA and also I believe C would be correct in the NCAA
__________________
The officials lament, or the coaches excuses as it were: "I didn't say it was your fault, I said I was going to blame you"
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 25, 2007, 07:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Woodward, Oklahoma
Posts: 15
I know that there is nothing in the case book or rules book that says this is an illegal play, but it goes against everything I have ever been taught about an illegal forward pass. If the coach's ever figured this out, can you imagine what kind of plays would be drawn up and ran?

Thanks everyone for your taking time to read and post to this bizarre situation.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 25, 2007, 09:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Randolph, NJ
Posts: 1,936
Send a message via Yahoo to waltjp
Before they changed the rule a few years ago to make it illegal to throw more than 1 forward pass during a down it would have been possible for:

A12 to throw a forward pass beyond the LOS to A20;
A20 could then throw a backward pass to A40 who was behind the LOS;
A40 could then throw a forward pass 30 yards beyond the LOS to A80.

This was all legal as long as each forward pass was thrown from behind the LOS.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 26, 2007, 11:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,920
Quote:
Originally Posted by dldsooner
I know that there is nothing in the case book or rules book that says this is an illegal play, but it goes against everything I have ever been taught about an illegal forward pass. If the coach's ever figured this out, can you imagine what kind of plays would be drawn up and ran?
There are versions of the buck lateral pass play in which the middle link man is a lineman who has turned to face his own end line. Because of this rule the officials don't have to determine whether the ball crossed the neutral zone before being handed off to him.

Robert
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Illegal Forward Pass? BktBallRef Football 15 Wed May 16, 2007 12:45pm
Illegal Forward Pass? nelson_28602 Football 12 Mon Oct 23, 2006 10:51am
Illegal Forward Pass Grey Hare Football 12 Fri Aug 05, 2005 08:10am
Pass Interference on an Illegal Forward Pass OverAndBack Football 8 Mon Aug 23, 2004 03:11pm
Illegal forward pass carmstrong Football 2 Tue Jan 21, 2003 07:33am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:07pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1