![]() |
|
|
|||
Rule 2-40, the definition of a snap says "the legal act of passing or handing the ball backward from its position on the ground." So, the normal snap would be the handing and a shotgun snap would be the passing.
|
|
|||
Agreed, after a quick look I can't find anything in Fed Rules about it. NCAA is a little different,
NCAA Rule 2-23-c c. If, during any backward motion of a legal snap, the ball slips from the snapper's hand, it becomes a backward pass and is in play. In Europe, we use NCAA, but on the occasional visit to the USA I do get to work some Fed ball and have to bone up on my out-of-date Fed Rules knowledge. Is there any practical difference between how I would cover a fumble that is loose on the ground and a backward pass that is loose on the ground?
__________________
Sorry Death, you lose.... It was Professor Plum! |
|
|||
Question #13 on the NFHS test.... "The snap is considered to be a backward pass and part of a loose-ball play."
True or False??? In the NFHS rule book I finally found the answer, after looking all afternoon. Rule 10-3-1 "... A lose-ball play is action during: c. A backward pass (including the snap), illegal kick or fumble......" This doesn't clarify if it's refering to a "long snap" or simply a regular snap, so I'm assuming that Question #13 is true. JimO.
__________________
What is Real Football????? |
|
|||
Andy and Oz... read my post above. The definition of a snap says it can be passing or handing.
Now, it is obvious that a shotgun snap is the "pass" and if a regular "QB under the center" snap is not the "handing," what is? Let's look at some definitions. 2-40, A snap is the legal act of passing or handing the ball backward from its position on the ground. 2-31-1, Passing the ball is throwing a ball that is in player possession. In a pass, the ball travels in flight. 2-19-1, Handing the ball is transferring player possession from one player to a teammate in such a way that the ball is still in contact with the first player when it is touched by the teammate. Handing the ball is not a pass. Loss of player possession by unsuccessful execution of attempted handing is a fumble. So, in a QB under the center snap, the ball is not thrown, but handed, so in that type of snap you do not have a BWPass. As stated above it is different in NCAA in that they consider the loss of control of a hand to hand snap a BWP. Last edited by MJT; Sun Aug 26, 2007 at 02:38pm. |
|
|||
The snap is considered to be a backward pass and part of a loose-ball play.
If you want to get the question right, you'd better answer TRUE.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
2-40, A snap is the legal act of passing or handing the ball backward from its position on the ground. 2-31-1, Passing the ball is throwing a ball that is in player possession. In a pass, the ball travels in flight. 2-19-1, Handing the ball is transferring player possession from one player to a teammate in such a way that the ball is still in contact with the first player when it is touched by the teammate. Handing the ball is not a pass. Loss of player possession by unsuccessful execution of attempted handing is a fumble. Last edited by MJT; Mon Aug 27, 2007 at 08:36am. |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() |
|
|||
I knew it was in there somewhere!!!
Page 77, Football Penalty A loose-ball play is action during: "3. A backward pass (including the snap)......." Of course, that is also in the rules: Page 36, Rule 2-33-1: A loose ball play is action during: c. A backward pass (including the snap)....... I think the Federation puts in questions like that to make us dig into the rule book and find all the little nuances - that's what makes discussions like this so much fun. Though it would be nice if they got the answer correct themselves. ![]() |
|
|||
2-33-1 A loose-ball play is action during:
c. A backward pass (including the snap), an illegal kick or fumble made by A from in or behind the neutral zone prior to a change of team possession. 10.4.2 Situation B When any foul occurs during a free kick, scrimmage kick, legal forward pass, backward pass (including the snap) or fumble made by A from in or behind the neutral zone...even if several of these actions happen during the same down...the basic spot remains the same, the previous spot which is the spot of the snap or free kick. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
NBA loose ball foul | Jay R | Basketball | 6 | Fri May 18, 2007 08:25pm |
Loose ball or TD? | tskill | Football | 7 | Tue Aug 15, 2006 02:07pm |
loose ball | kenlopez | Football | 12 | Tue Sep 27, 2005 07:24am |
Loose ball | lukealex | Basketball | 18 | Tue May 24, 2005 01:15pm |
Holding on loose ball play | BackJudge | Football | 2 | Mon Nov 20, 2000 11:06pm |