The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 24, 2007, 07:35pm
I Bleed Crimson
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 477
Even in the original, I'm not understanding why this is legal before the pass is thrown. Since 9.2.3d makes no reference to where the receiver is located relative to the LOS, and 2.3.5b explicitly excludes illegal use of the hands as a defense against pushing, pulling, or warding off an opponent, how is the original situation legal?

Let's change this up a bit. Would this change your ruling?

Receiver A2 runs an out pattern (beyond the line of scrimmage) as a potential receiver and QB A1 is also rolling to the right. Defensive player B1 is heading for the QB. As receiver A2 crosses in front of him while A2 is looking back to the QB, B1 pushes A2 out of his way so he can continue on his path to A1.

Now the receiver is beyond the line. A pass is not yet thrown. Is this illegal use of the hands?
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is this legal? TravelinMan Basketball 11 Mon Dec 19, 2005 08:28pm
Is this legal? LDUB Baseball 2 Sat May 08, 2004 09:28pm
Legal? Erik Basketball 22 Thu Mar 18, 2004 10:46am
legal or not xxssmen Basketball 25 Sat Mar 13, 2004 02:59am
Is this legal? FBFAN Football 4 Mon Oct 14, 2002 01:27pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:20am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1