The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 24, 2007, 11:00am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 415
Legal or not?

This play was reviewed in an association meeting the other night. I thought I'd put it out here for comments.

Back A2 goes out into the right flat (behind the line) as a potential receiver and QB A1 is also rolling to the right. Defensive player B1 is coming across the line and heading for the QB. As back A2 crosses in front of him while A2 is looking back to the QB, B1 pushes A2 out of his way so he can continue on his path to A1.

Legal contact or not?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 24, 2007, 11:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,305
Sounds like one being discussed among NCAA guys and which even made he NCAA training film this year. Jury is splt although Dave Parry says foul. I disagree.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 24, 2007, 11:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Cheyenne, wyoming
Posts: 1,493
what is illegal??

Mike,
I agree with you that it appears legal. What is Parry's problem with the play? As I recall the defense can use their hands to ward off the offensive players to get to the ball carrier. B is allowed to contact A2 in the backfield as long as it isn't a personal foul or below the waist....so I can't see anything potetially wrong here...
__________________
The officials lament, or the coaches excuses as it were: "I didn't say it was your fault, I said I was going to blame you"
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 24, 2007, 12:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 945
If this contact, the push, it just to make room to run by in an attempt to get to the QB then I have nothing as this action is specifically allowed by rule. I am much less inclined to call anything if the ball is not in the air. However, if B goes out of his way to hit A2 on his way toward the QB then there is probably a foul. And if B hits A2 after the pass is thrown toward A2 then there is probably illegal use of hands against B.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 24, 2007, 01:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Cheyenne, wyoming
Posts: 1,493
what is the basis

Warren,
What is the basis for illegal use of hands? What difference does it make if the ball is in the air?
__________________
The officials lament, or the coaches excuses as it were: "I didn't say it was your fault, I said I was going to blame you"
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 24, 2007, 01:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 415
We reviewed this play on tape from a HS game last year. According to the state interpreter, this should have been called illegal use of the hands. I have a lot of trouble with that because it seemed to me to logically be a legal play. B was just trying to get to the ball carrier and I'm sure he did not look to see if it was a guard or a back in his way.

By rule, since A2 was a receiver and not a potential blocker, it's illegal. I don't like it.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 28, 2007, 06:11pm
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Lightbulb Canadian Ruling

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim D
This play was reviewed in an association meeting the other night. I thought I'd put it out here for comments.

Back A2 goes out into the right flat (behind the line) as a potential receiver and QB A1 is also rolling to the right. Defensive player B1 is coming across the line and heading for the QB. As back A2 crosses in front of him while A2 is looking back to the QB, B1 pushes A2 out of his way so he can continue on his path to A1.

Legal contact or not?
B can interfere with A while A is in the NZ and those A players protecting the passer. [9-4-9b]

It does not seem that A2 was protecting the passer, and in fact is a high candidate as a pass recipient. [9-4-10b]

Illegal contact: 10 yards from PLS, down repeated.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is this legal? TravelinMan Basketball 11 Mon Dec 19, 2005 08:28pm
Is this legal? LDUB Baseball 2 Sat May 08, 2004 09:28pm
Legal? Erik Basketball 22 Thu Mar 18, 2004 10:46am
legal or not xxssmen Basketball 25 Sat Mar 13, 2004 02:59am
Is this legal? FBFAN Football 4 Mon Oct 14, 2002 01:27pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:32am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1