![]() |
|
|||
Part I Test
I had a long plane flight the other day, so I used the time to take the test without using the book and then checked my answers in the book (I got an 82 without the book, which is about 60 more than I would have gotten before I ever became an official). But that's just the setup.
I then filled in my answers online, and got a 98. I have some questions for the group about the two I got wrong and a couple of ones I apparently got right but still have questions about. I got these wrong: #61: "If end A1 accidentally goes out of bounds and returns during the down, he becomes an ineligible pass receiver." I tried, but couldn't find a rule that said this specifically. I may have done transitive properties here, because a player who goes out of bounds (I don't know that "accidentally" is defined, either, is it?) can't come back in and participate. If you're knocked out of bounds, that's one thing, but, to me, "accidentally" doesn't necessarily cover it. I can accidentally take the wrong exit and have to go back around and get back on the interstate without being run off the road by another driver. So I may have overthunk it here, but I figured that it was ambiguous enough that if you go out of bounds and therefore can't participate, you would be, by transitive theory, an ineligible receiver (whether or not the foul would be "illegal participation" by rule and not "illegal touching" or "ineligible receiver downfield" or whatever). So I took it to be true, and apparently it's false. I can see that, too, but, like I said, I could have been overthinking. #85:"R may recover any scrimmage kick anywhere between the goal lines and advance the ball." What tripped me up was any scrimmage kick. 6-2-2 reads: "Art. 2... Any receiver may catch or recover a scrimmage kick in the field of play and advance, unless it is during a try, or unless any member of the receiving team has given a valid or invalid fair-catch signal. R may catch or recover a scrimmage kick in K’s end zone." So there are exceptions. Any scrimmage kick is not true. A try is a scrimmage kick, no? If not, why would they make it an exception to the "recover a scrimmage kick in the field of play" above? Again, I may have thought too much. I also had a problem with the question (forget which one it was) about a substitute coming in who has the same number as a player going out. In my mind, that's anal (the fact that it's "true" to them). One #10 goes out, one comes in, that's fine. They can't both participate in the play. But, in my mind (and maybe yours), one subbing for the other seems fine to me. Your thoughts?
__________________
"And I'm not just some fan, I've refereed football and basketball in addition to all the baseball I've umpired. I've never made a call that horrible in my life in any sport."---Greatest. Official. Ever. |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Part II Test | dknick78 | Basketball | 4 | Tue Nov 23, 2004 01:43am |
Part 1 Test | lawref | Basketball | 11 | Wed Nov 05, 2003 10:57pm |
Has everyone taken the Part II test Yet? | KEFerrell | Football | 3 | Thu Oct 09, 2003 09:15am |
Part 2 Test | lawref | Football | 28 | Tue Sep 09, 2003 06:27pm |
Test - Part II | i011763 | Football | 2 | Fri Aug 22, 2003 02:14pm |