Thread: Part I Test
View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 22, 2007, 12:55pm
OverAndBack OverAndBack is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 1,023
Quote:
Originally Posted by MNBlue
My research showed that 7-5-6-d states, "A player who is eligible at the start of the down remains eligible throughout the down." That is why I answered True. 9-6-1 says "... no player of A or K shall go out of bounds and return during the down unless blocked out of bounds by an opponent. ..."
So, although the player who accidentally goes out of bounds remains eligible, he can be flagged for IP.
I guess that makes sense. Strangely worded question, though.

Quote:
I think you overthought it, as you discovered, R cannot advance a try that is not good and they can't advance a scrimmage kick when a teammate signals a fair catch.
So "any scrimmage kick" would be wrong then, wouldn't it? You can't advance a try (a scrimmage kick) that isn't good and you can't advance a scrimmage kick when there's a fair catch. So you can't recover and advance "any scrimmage kick" as there are exceptions to that.
__________________
"And I'm not just some fan, I've refereed football and basketball in addition to all the baseball I've umpired. I've never made a call that horrible in my life in any sport."---Greatest. Official. Ever.
Reply With Quote