Quote:
Originally Posted by OverAndBack
#61: "If end A1 accidentally goes out of bounds and returns during the down, he becomes an ineligible pass receiver."
|
My research showed that 7-5-6-d states, "A player who is eligible at the start of the down remains eligible throughout the down." That is why I answered True. 9-6-1 says "... no player of A or K shall go out of bounds and return during the down unless blocked out of bounds by an opponent. ..."
So, although the player who accidentally goes out of bounds remains eligible, he can be flagged for IP.
Quote:
Originally Posted by OverAndBack
#85:"R may recover any scrimmage kick anywhere between the goal lines and advance the ball."
|
I think you overthought it, as you discovered, R cannot advance a try that is not good and they can't advance a scrimmage kick when a teammate signals a fair catch.
Quote:
Originally Posted by OverAndBack
I also had a problem with the question (forget which one it was) about a substitute coming in who has the same number as a player going out. In my mind, that's anal (the fact that it's "true" to them). One #10 goes out, one comes in, that's fine. They can't both participate in the play. But, in my mind (and maybe yours), one subbing for the other seems fine to me. Your thoughts?
|
I agree with you on this one. 7-2-5-c states "Players of the same team shall not participate during the same down while wearing identical numbers." Preventative officiating would lead me to think that I would try to stop this penalty from occuring, but since the rulebook provides for a penalty if this happens (illegal numbering), I would also think that, technically, we shouldn't prevent two players from participating with identical numbers if that is what the coach wants to do.