![]() |
|
|||
|
Now, I understand the casebook indicates the shift does not make somebody eligible.
But what I don't understand is why. Eligibility is determined at the snap, and there can be as many shifts as A wants. And the exception in 7.2.5a says: Quote:
The question is what is meant by "initial position." I've always thought it meant at the snap. For example, before a shift (assume a scrimmage kick formation in both): 80 23 57 33 58 62 41 After the shift: 23 57 33 58 62 41 80 That is, 80 shifts to the other end of the line. I understand the casebook says that 23 remains ineligible. But if the "initial position" is established as they first lineup, and they lined up wrong, how can they correct this? What if 80 lined up on the wrong side? Do they all re-huddle then lineup again? Or are they forced to call a timeout? Thus I think that a fair interpretation would be the position, at the snap, is the "initial position", and determines eligibility. How did the casebook come up with this interpretation? |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Punt Formation | HL Clippenchain | Football | 15 | Mon Aug 13, 2007 10:13pm |
| Illegal Formation - NFL Rule Question | GPC2 | Football | 8 | Tue Mar 20, 2007 06:43pm |
| Long Passes Foul Question? | bballplayer | Basketball | 4 | Tue Nov 09, 2004 04:24pm |
| formation question | Trips Special | Football | 5 | Tue Oct 05, 2004 01:46pm |
| Punt question | MOFFICIAL | Football | 2 | Sun Oct 03, 2004 10:35am |