The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 13, 2007, 10:08am
MJT MJT is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Alton, Iowa
Posts: 1,796
Yes, he is.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 13, 2007, 10:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 415
No he would not be eligible. Case book 7.2.5 D. ""Team A sets in a scrimmage-kick formation...Number 33 is positioned as an interior lineman between the ends as an exception to the numbering requirement. A shifts and Number 33 assumes a position on the end of the line..." Ruling - "Number 33 remains ineligible."
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 13, 2007, 10:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 223
Sorry, MJT, he isn't.
7.5.b exception:

"Art. 5... Player numbering requirements include:
a. At the snap, at least seven A players shall be on their line of scrimmage.
b. At the snap, at least five A players on the line of scrimmage must be numbered 50-79. B players may be anywhere on or behind the line.
EXCEPTION: When A sets or shifts into a scrimmage-kick formation any A player numbered 1 to 49 or 80 to 99 may take the position of any A player numbered 50 to 79. A player in the game under this exception must assume an initial position on his line of scrimmage between the ends and he remains an ineligible forward-pass receiver during that down unless the pass is touched by B (7-5-6b). "
__________________
Steve
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 13, 2007, 10:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 60
I believe I may have missed that in the past.
I can see where the umpire MUST be sure of the numbering. I assume that it is his responsiblity to make sure of the numbers and be responsible for making the call.
If I read this correctly-
If the play that is listed above is an exception to the numbering then once ineligible then always ineligible (except when b touches)
But if the number requirment is met, then that play makes #80 eligible.

Last edited by kfo9494; Mon Aug 13, 2007 at 10:41am.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 13, 2007, 11:06am
MJT MJT is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Alton, Iowa
Posts: 1,796
Duh! Knew it and blew it!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Punt Formation HL Clippenchain Football 15 Mon Aug 13, 2007 10:13pm
Illegal Formation - NFL Rule Question GPC2 Football 8 Tue Mar 20, 2007 06:43pm
Long Passes Foul Question? bballplayer Basketball 4 Tue Nov 09, 2004 04:24pm
formation question Trips Special Football 5 Tue Oct 05, 2004 01:46pm
Punt question MOFFICIAL Football 2 Sun Oct 03, 2004 10:35am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:47am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1