The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 22, 2007, 03:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: MA
Posts: 127
There was an NCAA rules interpretation issued last year (pretty sure it was by Mr. Adams) that said that the runner (in this case the QB who still has the ball) cannot simultaneously be considered an eligible receiver and therefore the AFD would not be applied in the case where the QB still in possession of the ball, had a 5-yd mask committed against him, and then he threw a legal forward pass.

The bulletin pretty clearly said that the ball carrier by definition is a runner, and that he cannot simultaneously be an eligible receiver in the context of this rule.
__________________
"It's easy to get the players, Getting 'em to play together, that's the hard part." - Casey Stengel
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 22, 2007, 10:46pm
MJT MJT is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Alton, Iowa
Posts: 1,796
Quote:
Originally Posted by RoyGardner
There was an NCAA rules interpretation issued last year (pretty sure it was by Mr. Adams) that said that the runner (in this case the QB who still has the ball) cannot simultaneously be considered an eligible receiver and therefore the AFD would not be applied in the case where the QB still in possession of the ball, had a 5-yd mask committed against him, and then he threw a legal forward pass.

The bulletin pretty clearly said that the ball carrier by definition is a runner, and that he cannot simultaneously be an eligible receiver in the context of this rule.
I was going to post the same thing Roy, as I was reading down thru the posts. I remember the same thing.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 22, 2007, 11:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Kirkland, Washington
Posts: 422
Send a message via ICQ to Jim S Send a message via AIM to Jim S
Of course you could make a case for the imposition of a ten yard illegal hands if the first contact was the grasping of the mask above the shoulder.
Don't have to decide which to take then.
__________________
Jim Schroeder

Read Rule 2, Read Rule 2, Read Rule 2!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 23, 2007, 12:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,917
Quote:
Originally Posted by RoyGardner
There was an NCAA rules interpretation issued last year (pretty sure it was by Mr. Adams) that said that the runner (in this case the QB who still has the ball) cannot simultaneously be considered an eligible receiver and therefore the AFD would not be applied in the case where the QB still in possession of the ball, had a 5-yd mask committed against him, and then he threw a legal forward pass.

The bulletin pretty clearly said that the ball carrier by definition is a runner, and that he cannot simultaneously be an eligible receiver in the context of this rule.
As sec'y of the rules committee, Mr. Adams could be expected to be in on their deliberations. However, I doubt they considered such a case, and I suspect him of "judicial activism" here.

It is legal to throw yourself a forward pass if you're an eligible receiver (or you could get a return pass after giving it to someone else). If the intention of the 5-yards and AFD rule is to prevent the defense from gaining an advantage (as opposed to the personal foul, which is to prevent broken necks), then why should the defense in just this case not get the full penalty for using an illegal tactic to impede the potential receiver?

Robert
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 24, 2007, 10:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Cheyenne, wyoming
Posts: 1,493
I for one

Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Goodman
As sec'y of the rules committee, Mr. Adams could be expected to be in on their deliberations. However, I doubt they considered such a case, and I suspect him of "judicial activism" here.

It is legal to throw yourself a forward pass if you're an eligible receiver (or you could get a return pass after giving it to someone else). If the intention of the 5-yards and AFD rule is to prevent the defense from gaining an advantage (as opposed to the personal foul, which is to prevent broken necks), then why should the defense in just this case not get the full penalty for using an illegal tactic to impede the potential receiver?

Robert
I for one, will take Dr. Adams' word on any give situation as the Gospel. On the occasions that he wouldn't "consult" the committee, he certainly was there to discuss the intent of the rules when and as they were written.

I also tend to agree that you cannont simultaneously be a runner and eligible receiver. It just doesn't make sense.
__________________
The officials lament, or the coaches excuses as it were: "I didn't say it was your fault, I said I was going to blame you"
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 24, 2007, 11:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 170
pretty basic question I know, but does anyone know where I can find the definition of an "Eligible Receiver" in the NCAA rulebook?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 24, 2007, 01:22pm
MJT MJT is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Alton, Iowa
Posts: 1,796
Here it is from the NCAA rule book. You can download the NCAA rulebook here. http://www.ncaa.org/library/rules/20...ball_rules.pdf

Eligibility to Touch Legal Pass
ARTICLE 3. Eligibility rules apply during a down when a legal forward
pass is thrown. All Team B players are eligible to touch or catch a pass.
When the ball is snapped, the following Team A players are eligible:
a. Each player who is in an end position on his scrimmage line and who is
wearing a number other than 50 through 79 (A.R. 7-3-3-I).
b. Each player who is legally positioned as a back wearing a number other
than 50 through 79.
c. A player wearing a number other than 50 through 79 in position to
receive a hand-to-hand snap from between the snapper’s legs.
Eligibility Lost by Going Out of Bounds
ARTICLE 4. No eligible offensive receiver who goes out of bounds during
a down shall touch a legal forward pass in the field of play or end zones or
while airborne until it has been touched by an opponent or official (A.R.
7-3-4-I-III).
Exception: This does not apply to an eligible offensive player who
attempts to return inbounds immediately after being blocked out of bounds
by an opponent (A.R. 7-3-4-IV).
Eligibility Gained or Regained
ARTICLE 5. When a Team B player or an official touches a legal forward
pass, all players become eligible (A.R. 7-3-5-I).

Last edited by MJT; Sat Mar 24, 2007 at 01:29pm.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Enforcement of 1-5-3k alabamabluezebra Football 2 Sat Sep 03, 2005 11:43pm
Enforcement? jimmiececil Football 4 Tue Aug 23, 2005 11:41am
Illegal Glove Rule Enforcement bake17 Baseball 13 Tue Mar 08, 2005 05:13pm
Enforcement mvp2jeter Football 9 Fri Oct 01, 2004 10:44am
Need help with enforcement........ ump76 Football 3 Wed Aug 27, 2003 12:28pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:33am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1