The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 21, 2007, 07:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: North
Posts: 69
Rule Enforcement

What would you tell the captain as far as his choices?

PLAY:
Second and 10 for for Team A from it's own 20 yardline. B1 graps but does not twist or pull the face mask of Fullback A2, who was blocking behind the neutral zone. The foul occurs before a legal forward pass that crosses the netural zone is caught by A3, who is downed at team A's 26 yardline.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 21, 2007, 07:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: North
Posts: 69
Penalty Enforcement

Talking about NHSF
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 22, 2007, 06:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 618
Send a message via MSN to grantsrc
Ok, so you have foul during the run preceeding a loose ball play. Defensive live ball fouls are enforced from the basic spot and the basic spot here is the previous spot since the foul occured during the LBP. So A's options are, decline the penalty and take the result of the play, 3rd and 4, or accept the penalty, 2nd and 5.
__________________
Check out my football officials resource page at
http://resources.refstripes.com
If you have a file you would like me to add, email me and I will get it posted.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 22, 2007, 09:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Clinton Township, NJ
Posts: 2,065
REPLY: OK Grant...here's the test: Would it be any different for NCAA?
__________________
Bob M.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 22, 2007, 10:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 618
Send a message via MSN to grantsrc
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob M.
REPLY: OK Grant...here's the test: Would it be any different for NCAA?
Man Bob, you know I am trying to learn the differences! My head hurts trying to sort all this cr*p out!!

Ok, so here is my process to find the answer to your question. (I do this for all plays like this, either NFHS or NCAA).
  • Start with definitions. Here there are a few to look at.
    • Type of play: This is a pass play (I will use NCAA terminology- hopefully correctly too). These start at the snap and end when a legal forward pass is complete.
    • Spots: Basic spot on pass plays is the previous spot.
    • Spot of foul: Doesn't really matter since foul by B.
    • Enforcement spot: Since pass play, enforce from basic spot which is previous spot.
  • Type of foul:
    • Defensive 5 yard facemask.
    • Live ball, during pass play.
    • No automatic first down.
  • Enforcement:
    • If accepted:
      • Distance: 5 yards
      • Where from: Basic spot which is previous spot
      • Down: Replay since LBF
      • Clock status: On ready
    • If declined (wouldn't that be nice and easy?!?):
      • Result of play
      • Clock status: On ready
Now, I REALLY hope I went through that properly. I am sure I messed up the vocab some.

My final answer is no, there wouldn't be any difference. But knowing you the way most of us do, Bob, there probably is some difference.
__________________
Check out my football officials resource page at
http://resources.refstripes.com
If you have a file you would like me to add, email me and I will get it posted.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 22, 2007, 10:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 463
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob M.
REPLY: OK Grant...here's the test: Would it be any different for NCAA?
I'll take a shot, though NCAA isn't my bailiwick and I don't have a copy of the rulebook here.

I believe I've read here that contact fouls against eligible receivers result in automatic first downs. Now I'm not sure if the foul needs to be beyond the NZ or not. I'm going to guess that it does. So I say no difference in the ruling.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 22, 2007, 11:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 618
Send a message via MSN to grantsrc
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Roamin' Umpire
I'll take a shot, though NCAA isn't my bailiwick and I don't have a copy of the rulebook here.

I believe I've read here that contact fouls against eligible receivers result in automatic first downs. Now I'm not sure if the foul needs to be beyond the NZ or not. I'm going to guess that it does. So I say no difference in the ruling.
Yes, contact fouls on an eligible receiver is an automatic first down. But in this case, even though he is eligible I would say that since he is in the act of blocking, the automatic first down wouldn't apply.

BTW- here is a link the NCAA rule book. I save a copy on my computers and my jump drive. That way I always have it!http://www.ncaa.org/library/rules/20...ball_rules.pdf
__________________
Check out my football officials resource page at
http://resources.refstripes.com
If you have a file you would like me to add, email me and I will get it posted.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Enforcement of 1-5-3k alabamabluezebra Football 2 Sat Sep 03, 2005 11:43pm
Enforcement? jimmiececil Football 4 Tue Aug 23, 2005 11:41am
Illegal Glove Rule Enforcement bake17 Baseball 13 Tue Mar 08, 2005 05:13pm
Enforcement mvp2jeter Football 9 Fri Oct 01, 2004 10:44am
Need help with enforcement........ ump76 Football 3 Wed Aug 27, 2003 12:28pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:59pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1