The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Sun Jan 28, 2007, 10:48pm
Official Forum Member

6 man mechanics

What is your opinion of the 6 man system? Is anyone using it?

The reason I ask is that due to the evolution of the passing game in Texas, the topic of number of officials is starting to come up. We work 5 man in most, if not all, HS varsity contests (11 players) and many subvarsity (JV mostly; some frosh) in Texas. Now, I'm hearing that coaches are starting to wonder if adding one or two officials would be a good idea.

I seriously doubt we will go to 7 man anytime soon. That leaves 6 man that I've heard (I have no experience with it) has some gaps in downfield coverage.
Old Mon Jan 29, 2007, 06:09am
Official Forum Member

We use 5, 6, and 7 man mechanics (depending on availability and level of the game), and the general feeling with experiences officials is that we would rather do a game with 5 man mechanics than 6.

Problem with the 6 man mechanics is there is no support for boxing in deep in the middle of the field. We find there is more uncertain about possible fouls, and the dead ball coverage is not quite as present.

But some people prefer having the extra man... I think you will basically have to try it out, but we don't really like it that much.

James
Old Mon Jan 29, 2007, 12:00pm
Official Forum Member

I agree that the middle of field might be void without a backjudge. But you are at the most 27 yards from the nearest official.

I disagree on deadball officiating, accordian in like you would with 5 or 7 man. Sideline deadball coverage is much easier with 6 man.

http://www.ecac.org/uploadedFiles/Of.../6man82506.pdf

Try this site out for mechanics. ^^^^^
Old Mon Jan 29, 2007, 07:36pm
Official Forum Member