![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
I'm a disinterested party since I'm an Eagles fan and a basketball ref.
My question is the pass interference call when Ellis Hobbs was guarding Reggie Wayne in the left corner of the end zone in the 3rd quarter. Is there a face-guarding element to Defensive PI? Hobbs clearly was not looking back at the ball. But he also did not touch Wayne at all nor did he put his hands directly in front of Wayne's face. Hobbs guessed right and flailed his arm at the right moment and the ball hit him in the back of his left arm. thank you my football brethren.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
|
Quote:
And BoBo...I'm with you--nice job by Helverson on those calls. On the no-call, I'm assuming the deep wing threw the flag and Helverson came in with the additional information that made them pick it up. (Amazingly, it took the announcers a few replays in slo-mo before they saw that the receiver tripped himself. On the second, he conferred briefly with the deep wing to make sure they both saw the same thing.
__________________
Bob M. Last edited by Bob M.; Mon Jan 22, 2007 at 09:31am. |
|
|||
|
Great patience by the two deep guys on the shove out. Also, great job getting together on the apparent DPI. They did an outstanding job.
And to the best of my knowledge there is no face guarding. There must have been contact. I was a little interested in the no call in the endzone on the fade towards the side (can't remember any more specifics). Looked like there was some contact.
__________________
Check out my football officials resource page at http://resources.refstripes.com If you have a file you would like me to add, email me and I will get it posted. |
|
|||
|
Although I was rooting for Indy, on New England's 3rd down pass in the endzone before they kicked their last TD, the receiver got mugged in the endzone. That call should have been made. It was certainly not incidental and probably prevented the TD.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
And please, please pretty please NFL, change the brush to head to the quarterback by a defender to something other than a personal foul, 15 yards.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
on the "shove-out" TD, did anyone else think it looked like the receiver jumped with his heal on the end-line? Replays never really showed any sort of good angle/look, but I suspect his toes couldn't be that close to the line and his heal not touch it.
|
|
|||
|
The replays I saw of the push out touchdown, eventually showed that his heels were in the air...never really on the line...it wasn't a good look, but it did appear that way. Judging by the calls those guys nailed before and after, and the fact that they were standing right there watching that very thing, I will certainly jump on their bandwagon, it was a great call....
I was confused about the no DPI in the endzone though with Caldwell...would like to hear some comment from the involved parties there....
__________________
The officials lament, or the coaches excuses as it were: "I didn't say it was your fault, I said I was going to blame you" |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Great job by the crew!! That's why they are at that level and working that game!! |
|
|||
|
There's another play I've seen the Colts get away with a few times and they did it twice again yesterday. It's the plays where NE defense jumps offsides but does not make contact and then a Colt's lineman moves.
Prior to a few years ago, this would have been a foul on the offense since the defense can enter the NZ as long as they get back before the snap. They changed the rule so that if the offensive player moved in reaction to the defensive player jumping offside, the foul would be against the defense since they theoretically caused the movement. I thought there was a stipulation in the rule (but I guess it is based on a comment by the announcers so it could be wrong), that the movement by the offense had to be a reaction to the defense jumping and not an intentional movement to make the defense's action a foul. In both plays yesterday, the Colts lineman moved and immediately pointed at the defensive player (and it wasn't the offensive lineman directly across from the defender who moved). They've done that several times the past few games and the call has always gone against the defense. Thoughts? Were these the correct calls? |
|
|||
|
Good day for the deep officials
Everything we say about eyecontact, communication, position, etc. was displayed in both CC games. The call with the force-out in the Colts game and the play by the goal line in the Chicago game was very-well covered by the deep wing and the back judge in these games.
Nice pieces of officating in both games. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Heal-To cure. Heel-Part of the foot. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Cursed Game: 3 Injuries, 2 ambulance calls, 1 game | wadeintothem | Softball | 3 | Mon Oct 16, 2006 04:48pm |
| Halted game vs. game over | spots101 | Softball | 5 | Tue May 02, 2006 09:27pm |
| Game Control and "keeping them in the game" | IRISHMAFIA | Softball | 10 | Wed Mar 22, 2006 09:38pm |
| Pats on the back all around! | WyMike | Football | 7 | Fri Oct 29, 2004 07:21am |
| Colts/Bucs game | Snake~eyes | Football | 11 | Fri Oct 10, 2003 08:36am |