The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 21, 2006, 07:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Alabama
Posts: 226
Case Play 4.2.3 sit E

Iím sure this has been discussed in this forum previously, if so I apologize but I missed it.

4.2.3 sit E: Ksí ball, 4th and 12 on Rís 45-yard line. K8ís punt is rolling on Rís 16 when an inadverted whistle sounds. R76 blocks K84 in the back on Rís 22-yard line during the down prior to the whistle. Ruling: If the penalty is accepted, the foul negates the inadverted whistle and results in a previous spot enforcement. >>> declined Ö.

Why is this a previous spot enforcement?
__________________
Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 21, 2006, 08:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Mullica Hill, NJ
Posts: 798
The foul doesn't meet the requirements of post-scrimmage kick enforcement as it happened during the kick. If the foul is declined it's an automatic replay of the down from the previous spot because you have an inadvertent whistle during a kick.

Also, the spelling is "inadvertent"
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 21, 2006, 10:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Alabama
Posts: 226
Quote:
Originally Posted by ljudge
The foul doesn't meet the requirements of post-scrimmage kick enforcement as it happened during the kick. If the foul is declined it's an automatic replay of the down from the previous spot because you have an inadvertent whistle during a kick.

Also, the spelling is "inadvertent"
Thank you for the correction. But what doesn't meet the requirements of PSK?
__________________
Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 22, 2006, 08:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 463
Quote:
Originally Posted by dumbref
Thank you for the correction. But what doesn't meet the requirements of PSK?
Because of the IW, the ball still belongs to K at the end of the down. It can be argued this is true any time that K downs the ball, too, but we have specific interps to cover that. I believe the rationale is that the kick never ended, so how can you penalize R from the end of the kick?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 22, 2006, 06:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Alabama
Posts: 226
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Roamin' Umpire
Because of the IW, the ball still belongs to K at the end of the down. It can be argued this is true any time that K downs the ball, too, but we have specific interps to cover that. I believe the rationale is that the kick never ended, so how can you penalize R from the end of the kick?
Thanks for your explanation. This play may better explain the logic.

Ks’ ball, 4th and 12 on R’s 45-yard line. R1 holds K2 at R’s 48-yard line. K8’s punt is in flight near the 50 yard line when an inadvertent whistle is blown.

If PSK were the enforcement spot, K would be forced to decline a foul in order to replay the down. Why not just add inadvertent whistle to the PSK definition or at very least an explanation in the case book on this play?
__________________
Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Case play 7.1.1 is not correct JTRICE Basketball 46 Thu Oct 12, 2006 08:33am
Case Play, Part II ejstuart Soccer 6 Mon May 03, 2004 08:48pm
Case Play ejstuart Soccer 3 Thu Apr 22, 2004 12:43am
What about Case Play 10.8-1? Dakota Softball 4 Sun Nov 16, 2003 01:54pm
FED case play 8.1.1L David Emerling Baseball 5 Sat Mar 15, 2003 12:58am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:14am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1