The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Wed Oct 04, 2006, 07:40pm
Official Forum Member

Pass Interference?

Looking for some general opinions. I've been officiating for about 5 years now, so I'm getting a pretty good feel for most aspects of officiating. But IMO, pass interference is one of the toughest calls we make. I'll try to describe a play I had today (middle school).

Team A runs a reverse, and the guy getting the ball pulls up to pass. He has a WR wide open about 40 yards down field. He heaves it as far as he can, but obviously doesn't have the arm to enable the WR to keep running his route. So the WR is standing there waiting on it. The DB was probably 15 yards in front of the WR and starts stumbling back toward the WR, the whole time looking back at the ball. He gets to the WR about a second before the ball. They both sort of stumble together, feet tangled, both looking up for the ball. They both fall, incomplete pass. I rule no foul, incidental contact. Of course, crowd, coaches, etc. go nuts.

I'm sure one could have the opinion that it was the defender who initiated the contact. But he didn't run through the guy, and they were both playing the ball. Again, just looking for some general opinions/philosophies on PI.
Old Wed Oct 04, 2006, 08:43pm
Official Forum Member

nuttin honey

Feet tangled while both playing the ball, I've got nothing.
Old Wed Oct 04, 2006, 09:50pm
Official Forum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Forksref
Feet tangled while both playing the ball, I've got nothing.
Agreed. Need more than that.

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Old Wed Oct 04, 2006, 10:10pm
Official Forum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChickenOfNC