![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
And...I think that the R blew the RFP too early. I would never have blown it while team B was walking back onto the field.
__________________
Bob M. Last edited by Bob M.; Tue Sep 26, 2006 at 09:25am. |
|
|||
|
1. RFP should not have been blown with B still coming onto field and B coaches still on the field. If they are "delaying" flag them for DOG, but do not blow the RFP.
2. A-7 very clearly never sets - IM 3. Snapper clearly never sets - IM
__________________
"It's easy to get the players, Getting 'em to play together, that's the hard part." - Casey Stengel |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Last edited by radwaste50; Tue Sep 26, 2006 at 10:48am. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Bob M. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
2-27-4-1: Lineman "A lineman is any Team A player legally on his scrimmage line when the ball is snapped. An interior lineman is any Team A player legally on his scrimmage line and positioned between the end Team A players who are also on the line of scrimmage at the snap. An ineligible pass receiver of Team A is “on his scrimmage line’’ at the snap when he faces his opponent’s goal line with the line of his shoulders parallel thereto and his head breaking the plane of the line drawn through the waistline of the snapper." 2-27-8: Snapper "The snapper is the player who snaps the ball. He becomes the snapper when he assumes his position and touches or simulates (hand[s] at or below his knees) touching the ball (Rule 7-1-3-a-1)." I can't find anything in the NCAA Rules that says, verbatim, that the snapper, or a lineman, for that matter must have their shoulders parallel to the LOS - it only mentions it in determining the eligibility/ineligibility of A players. I'm sure I'm missing something though, if not the implied and expected inference that that's the way it is. NCAA people? |
|
|||
|
Quote:
I agree about the snapper though- it doesn't seem like a requirement for him since it doesn't say a snapper must meet the requirements for a lineman. I'm glad I'm a deep guy. |
|
|||
|
Looked to me like they didn't set for a second. That would have been my issue.
__________________
"And I'm not just some fan, I've refereed football and basketball in addition to all the baseball I've umpired. I've never made a call that horrible in my life in any sport."---Greatest. Official. Ever. |
|
|||
|
REPLY: I'm still trying to figure out why the R blew the ready-for-play when he did, while the Alabama players were still on their way back to the scrimmage spot.
__________________
Bob M. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Not that there's anything wrong with that... | Dan_ref | Basketball | 24 | Thu Feb 16, 2006 12:28am |
| Ump Wrong Then Right | Boston99 | Baseball | 4 | Fri Sep 10, 2004 09:08am |
| What was I doing wrong? | Mark Padgett | Basketball | 6 | Sun Feb 01, 2004 08:27am |
| wrong way | Adam | Basketball | 6 | Mon Dec 15, 2003 04:19pm |
| did I do anything wrong? | refjef40 | Softball | 6 | Sat Apr 14, 2001 07:54pm |