The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 20, 2006, 11:18am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,556
So what you are saying is any contact is a foul? If that is what you are saying, you need to do more research as an official. Also holding you would have to actually hold someone. Two players diving and jumping in the air is not quite holding. I saw the replay and I have no problem with the call. The receiver never had a chance at the ball. You have to have a chance to catch the ball to have DPI in NCAA rules.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 20, 2006, 11:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 19
I'm Sorry

Sorry I didn't realize they were both jumping in the air at the time the foul was committed. Can I get a Pac-10 official in here with an apology?

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 20, 2006, 11:43am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,556
Quote:
Originally Posted by brokerrookie
Sorry I didn't realize they were both jumping in the air at the time the foul was committed. Can I get a Pac-10 official in here with an apology?

You still have to be able to catch the pass. Where the pass is ends up matters. Showing all the angles does not change that fact. If that contact took place and the ball was not touched and ended up in the back of the EZ, then it would not be a foul. The officials got this right and maybe why you have not heard an apology or any reference about this play from the SEC.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 20, 2006, 11:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 19
Seems to me

Seems that without the defenders arm draped around the receiver he could have adjusted to at least have a play on the ball. I am by no means a football official (basketball, and yes I have blown calls), but a play that affects the outcome, was called on the field, but overturned by replay officials seemed odd. I know it happens but in the manner that the officials met, discussed, walked to the sidelines, made the announcement and then overturned. And before anyone asks, yes I have LSU season tickets. I wish this could have been sorted out by traditional means.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 20, 2006, 12:09pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,556
Quote:
Originally Posted by brokerrookie
Seems that without the defenders arm draped around the receiver he could have adjusted to at least have a play on the ball.
I do not know that I agree with that. I have been a football official for some time know and I have no idea how the receiver would have been able to "adjust" and make a play on a play of this nature. But an uncatchable ball is a judgment call.

Quote:
Originally Posted by brokerrookie
I am by no means a football official (basketball, and yes I have blown calls), but a play that affects the outcome, was called on the field, but overturned by replay officials seemed odd.
I was under the impression that the officials on the field made this decision and this was not made by the replay official at all. You cannot review a penalty situation in the first place.

Quote:
Originally Posted by brokerrookie
I know it happens but in the manner that the officials met, discussed, walked to the sidelines, made the announcement and then overturned. And before anyone asks, yes I have LSU season tickets. I wish this could have been sorted out by traditional means.
I think you are clouded by your affiliation of the LSU Tigers. Once again, the play was changed by the officials on the field. This has been said a few times just on this board. Even on the tape, the play was changed by the officials and there was no review from the replay officials. Sounds pretty traditional to me.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 20, 2006, 02:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Montgomery Alabama
Posts: 60
jRutledge is right on. I had a problem with this at first but it all comes down to the fact that the second auburn defender deflects the ball away making it uncatchable for the receiver. You don't have DPI on an uncatchable pass.

The DB that the deflected the pass saved his teammate from getting a DPI call. It's tough but it's correct.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 20, 2006, 03:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge
I think you are clouded by your affiliation of the LSU Tigers. Once again, the play was changed by the officials on the field. This has been said a few times just on this board. Even on the tape, the play was changed by the officials and there was no review from the replay officials. Sounds pretty traditional to me.

Peace
Absolutely, and if you just said I was right I would at least feel a little better!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 22, 2006, 11:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 285
Broker,

What you and everybody I've heard gripe about this call have ignored is that the ball was well underthrown. The angle that Doucet was taking to the end zon was far too wide for the ball to have connected with him had there not been pass interference; without contact on the receiver and the ball, the ball is thrown well behind Doucet, who would not have been able to do a "stop180," which is what he would have had to do, from a full sprint, to catch the ball. The irony is that it was the grab by the Auburn defender that created a situation in which the ball at least had a chance to be caught; until, that is, it was knocked away, making it, for the second time, uncatchable.

jb
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 08, 2008, 09:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,193
First of all, I agree with the no call. Ball is uncatchable. However, in the first pic posted, I *think* the players look closer than they actually are. The Auburn defender that tipped the ball, when he tipped it, was at least 2 yards in front of the receiver with the receiver moving even further away at the time.

NOW, take the same situation but one where the tip by the second defender is close enough that you believe that without the contact by the first defender, the pass is catchable. In other words, put this same play closer. Do you have DPI then? I hate to sound like I'm thinking too much into it, but I think you have to consider it then.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 08, 2008, 10:07am
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by Texas Aggie
First of all, I agree with the no call. Ball is uncatchable. However, in the first pic posted, I *think* the players look closer than they actually are. The Auburn defender that tipped the ball, when he tipped it, was at least 2 yards in front of the receiver with the receiver moving even further away at the time.

NOW, take the same situation but one where the tip by the second defender is close enough that you believe that without the contact by the first defender, the pass is catchable. In other words, put this same play closer. Do you have DPI then? I hate to sound like I'm thinking too much into it, but I think you have to consider it then.
Yup.

IMHO, if the tip comes after illegal contact, and the ball is catchable after the tip, the DPI (or OPI) still remains a possibility.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 08, 2008, 09:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,305
Quote:
Originally Posted by Texas Aggie
First of all, I agree with the no call. Ball is uncatchable. However, in the first pic posted, I *think* the players look closer than they actually are. The Auburn defender that tipped the ball, when he tipped it, was at least 2 yards in front of the receiver with the receiver moving even further away at the time.

NOW, take the same situation but one where the tip by the second defender is close enough that you believe that without the contact by the first defender, the pass is catchable. In other words, put this same play closer. Do you have DPI then? I hate to sound like I'm thinking too much into it, but I think you have to consider it then.
It is gonna take more than just being closer. In this play, the receiver has already left his feet so there is no way he is going to be able to go forward. He jumped straight up to stop his momentum from his route as the pass was on a line to go slightly behind him (but catchable had it not been cut off by the defender). If he had stayed on the ground you absolutely have to give him the benefit of the doubt but by jumping straight up, he has taken away any chance of moving himself forward to even compete for the ball.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 20, 2006, 12:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,305
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge
You still have to be able to catch the pass. Where the pass is ends up matters. Showing all the angles does not change that fact. If that contact took place and the ball was not touched and ended up in the back of the EZ, then it would not be a foul. The officials got this right and maybe why you have not heard an apology or any reference about this play from the SEC.

Peace
Actually the SEC has spoken and Rogers Redding confirmed both close calls were correctly dealt with.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 20, 2006, 12:09pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,556
Quote:
Originally Posted by TXMike
Actually the SEC has spoken and Rogers Redding confirmed both close calls were correctly dealt with.
Thanks.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 20, 2006, 12:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by TXMike
Actually the SEC has spoken and Rogers Redding confirmed both close calls were correctly dealt with.
He has spoken. It doesn't mean that right calls were made, it means they were "correctly dealt with". Interpretation: I stand by the calls my men made on the field because they are my men. I have been here a time or two in basketball. We take our lumps, we shove on and play the next game. Congrats to AU though, they clearly (at this point) have a top 2 team. This game would have killed lesser men.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 20, 2006, 12:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 19
One more point

Is it just me or could this promote the tackling of receivers with a defender knocking the ball away and this become accepted as it was not catchable? Playing devils advocate here. And still kind of hacked off as you can tell. I am not one of those guys that come here to aggravate a situation, I have been a lurker on the basketball forum for a while refining the trade.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Auburn-Georgia fumble largeone59 Football 5 Sun Nov 20, 2005 06:41am
ASA OBS call then no call leads to ejection DaveASA/FED Softball 28 Mon Jul 12, 2004 03:52pm
To call or not to call foul ball DaveASA/FED Softball 11 Thu Jun 24, 2004 11:47am
More Pacers/Pistons call/no call OverAndBack Basketball 36 Thu Jun 03, 2004 07:01pm
FLA-Auburn pass and crash Jay R Basketball 9 Mon Jan 26, 2004 11:15am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:10am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1