The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 17, 2006, 06:07pm
Broadcaster
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: LaGrange, Ga.
Posts: 364
Auburn-LSU PI non-call

Question for those who saw the LSU-Auburn game or highlights. Pass is thrown but the DB tackles the intended receiver before the ball gets there. Also before the ball gets there, the ball is tipped by another DB. The ruling on the field was since the ball was tipped there is no PI and since the hold happened before the tip, there is no holding so the flag was waved off. I looked up the rules on ncaa.org and that appears to be the correct call. Since the next game I officiate will be my first, what are your thoughts?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 17, 2006, 06:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,614
It wasn't DPI because the ball was batted away and was uncatchable, not because it was touched by B ending restrictions.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 19, 2006, 10:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Montgomery Alabama
Posts: 60
It was DPI all the way. Really wasn't even that close. The BJ makes a great DPI call and got talked in to picking it up. The contact happened before the ball was tipped. I think in that particular play, since the DB that tipped the ball was so close to the other DB that made the contact, touching shouldn't have been an issue.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 19, 2006, 12:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
So, Nickel ... you think this ball was catchable?!?!?!
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 19, 2006, 12:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,305
Quote:
Originally Posted by NickelDeuce
It was DPI all the way. Really wasn't even that close. The BJ makes a great DPI call and got talked in to picking it up. The contact happened before the ball was tipped. I think in that particular play, since the DB that tipped the ball was so close to the other DB that made the contact, touching shouldn't have been an issue.
The SEC Supervisor does NOT agree with you and that pretty much says it all.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 19, 2006, 12:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Montgomery Alabama
Posts: 60
Pass was not catchable. I no longer think it's DPI.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 20, 2006, 11:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 19
Then what?

No pass interference huh? Well at a minimum this should be holding don't you think?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 20, 2006, 11:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 19
And what about

What about the call earlier in the game where Jesse Daniels intercepts the ball and they call pass interference? A pass that is intercepted is clearly uncatchable. Let's not forget the Jacob Hester fumble that is ruled an incomplete pass.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 20, 2006, 11:18am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,158
So what you are saying is any contact is a foul? If that is what you are saying, you need to do more research as an official. Also holding you would have to actually hold someone. Two players diving and jumping in the air is not quite holding. I saw the replay and I have no problem with the call. The receiver never had a chance at the ball. You have to have a chance to catch the ball to have DPI in NCAA rules.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 20, 2006, 11:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 19
I'm Sorry

Sorry I didn't realize they were both jumping in the air at the time the foul was committed. Can I get a Pac-10 official in here with an apology?

Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 20, 2006, 11:41am
Broadcaster
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: LaGrange, Ga.
Posts: 364
Here is the play in question

I found it on youtube.

Last edited by voiceoflg; Wed Sep 20, 2006 at 11:44am.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 20, 2006, 11:43am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,158
Quote:
Originally Posted by brokerrookie
Sorry I didn't realize they were both jumping in the air at the time the foul was committed. Can I get a Pac-10 official in here with an apology?

You still have to be able to catch the pass. Where the pass is ends up matters. Showing all the angles does not change that fact. If that contact took place and the ball was not touched and ended up in the back of the EZ, then it would not be a foul. The officials got this right and maybe why you have not heard an apology or any reference about this play from the SEC.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 20, 2006, 11:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 19
Seems to me

Seems that without the defenders arm draped around the receiver he could have adjusted to at least have a play on the ball. I am by no means a football official (basketball, and yes I have blown calls), but a play that affects the outcome, was called on the field, but overturned by replay officials seemed odd. I know it happens but in the manner that the officials met, discussed, walked to the sidelines, made the announcement and then overturned. And before anyone asks, yes I have LSU season tickets. I wish this could have been sorted out by traditional means.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 20, 2006, 12:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,305
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge
You still have to be able to catch the pass. Where the pass is ends up matters. Showing all the angles does not change that fact. If that contact took place and the ball was not touched and ended up in the back of the EZ, then it would not be a foul. The officials got this right and maybe why you have not heard an apology or any reference about this play from the SEC.

Peace
Actually the SEC has spoken and Rogers Redding confirmed both close calls were correctly dealt with.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 20, 2006, 12:09pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,158
Quote:
Originally Posted by brokerrookie
Seems that without the defenders arm draped around the receiver he could have adjusted to at least have a play on the ball.
I do not know that I agree with that. I have been a football official for some time know and I have no idea how the receiver would have been able to "adjust" and make a play on a play of this nature. But an uncatchable ball is a judgment call.

Quote:
Originally Posted by brokerrookie
I am by no means a football official (basketball, and yes I have blown calls), but a play that affects the outcome, was called on the field, but overturned by replay officials seemed odd.
I was under the impression that the officials on the field made this decision and this was not made by the replay official at all. You cannot review a penalty situation in the first place.

Quote:
Originally Posted by brokerrookie
I know it happens but in the manner that the officials met, discussed, walked to the sidelines, made the announcement and then overturned. And before anyone asks, yes I have LSU season tickets. I wish this could have been sorted out by traditional means.
I think you are clouded by your affiliation of the LSU Tigers. Once again, the play was changed by the officials on the field. This has been said a few times just on this board. Even on the tape, the play was changed by the officials and there was no review from the replay officials. Sounds pretty traditional to me.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Auburn-Georgia fumble largeone59 Football 5 Sun Nov 20, 2005 06:41am
ASA OBS call then no call leads to ejection DaveASA/FED Softball 28 Mon Jul 12, 2004 03:52pm
To call or not to call foul ball DaveASA/FED Softball 11 Thu Jun 24, 2004 11:47am
More Pacers/Pistons call/no call OverAndBack Basketball 36 Thu Jun 03, 2004 07:01pm
FLA-Auburn pass and crash Jay R Basketball 9 Mon Jan 26, 2004 11:15am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:53am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1