The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 24, 2004, 07:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 1,042
Anyone see the game this afternoon. Florida player passes the ball to a teammate and crashes into the defender. Offensive foul is charged. The refs award two free throws to Auburn. I saw the Florida coach ask the refs about the situation but no explanation was given on the telecast. Anyone know why they awarded FTs on a team control foul?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 24, 2004, 09:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 237
Correct me if I'm wrong, but if the player had passed the ball then he no longer had player control. Therefore the call can't be PC. So, since it's a personal foul which is not player control they shot the bonus.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 24, 2004, 09:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 1,042
In NCAA, no FTs for either player or team control.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 24, 2004, 09:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 400
Quote:
Originally posted by Jay R
Anyone see the game this afternoon. Florida player passes the ball to a teammate and crashes into the defender. Offensive foul is charged. The refs award two free throws to Auburn. I saw the Florida coach ask the refs about the situation but no explanation was given on the telecast. Anyone know why they awarded FTs on a team control foul?


Once the player passed the ball, it is no longer a player control foul.
It becomes a common foul (most likely a push) and foul shots are awarded if in the bonus.
Don't have rulebook to site, however.
__________________
omq -- "May I always be the kind of person my dog thinks I am."
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 24, 2004, 09:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,613
It doesn't matter. In the NCAA, offensive team control fouls no longer result in FTs.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 24, 2004, 10:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 237
Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
It doesn't matter. In the NCAA, offensive team control fouls no longer result in FTs.
Correct. My fault, I was thinking NF.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 25, 2004, 01:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 4,802
Quote:
Originally posted by Jay R
Anyone know why they awarded FTs on a team control foul?

D-I refs still do this from time to time, just to keep everyone nice and confused.
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all."
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 25, 2004, 09:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,104
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by Mark Dexter
Quote:
Originally posted by Jay R
Anyone know why they awarded FTs on a team control foul?
D-I refs still do this from time to time, just to keep everyone nice and confused.
It's an amazing combination of pride and anger when you're the only official on the floor who remembers the rule, as was the case in my game last Saturday.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 25, 2004, 11:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 4,802
Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by Mark Dexter
Quote:
Originally posted by Jay R
Anyone know why they awarded FTs on a team control foul?
D-I refs still do this from time to time, just to keep everyone nice and confused.
It's an amazing combination of pride and anger when you're the only official on the floor who remembers the rule, as was the case in my game last Saturday.
Trust me - it's moreso when you're the only one in stripes who remembers the rule.

And you're sitting in front of a book . . . .

With little numbers for scores printed in it . . .
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all."
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 26, 2004, 11:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 1,042
The three officials were Doug Shows, Mike Kitts and Pat Adams. I don't remember who made the call, but Pat Adams was near Florida coach Billy Donovan when they were lining up for the free throws. I could Donovan's lips for part of the conversation: "I know it's not your call, but...." I'm assuming he was asking why were they shooting FT on a team control foul. In that situation, shouldn't Adams have gone to his partners to make sure they were not making a mistake?

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:25pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1