The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 12, 2005, 09:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 463
Well... I believe we're looking at a touchback in both cases. I'm more certain of the Fed ruling, so let's start with that:
  1. The kick does not end until caught or recovered, or the ball becomes dead.
  2. Catch/recovery does not happen until player touches the ground inbounds.
  3. Points 1 & 2 mean the ball is still a kick while the player is in midair.
  4. The ball becomes dead resulting in a touchback when any kick breaks the plane of R's goal line.
  5. Points 3 & 4 mean that the receiver doesn't even have to land - it's a touchback as soon as he crosses the goal line.

Now for NCAA...
  1. First three points above are still valid.
  2. BUT - since the ball has touched the ground, it is possible for the receiver to impart new impetus. This will be in the judgement of the covering official. From the play description, the ball is bounding towards the end zone (hit at the 3, collected at the 2), so no new impetus here.
  3. Ball would be live if player had kept his feet. Since he did not, the ball is dead in the end zone. As the kicking team is responsible, this is a touchback.

Good question!
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:14pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1