The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   2005 Rule Change (https://forum.officiating.com/football/21707-2005-rule-change.html)

Bob M. Thu Aug 11, 2005 10:56am

Alright...enough about illegal substitution, illegal participation, non-player fouls, etc. How about this one?

<b>PLAY:</b> K1's punt is over receiver R1's head. It bounces at R's 3. R1 retreating to field the punt, grasps the grounded kick while airborne above his 2-yardline. His momentum carries him across his goal line. He first returns to the ground in his endzone where he falls to the ground. <b>RULING:</b> ??

NCAA and Federation rulings welcome. Oh...and CFL ruling also.

BktBallRef Thu Aug 11, 2005 11:14am

Okay, the recovery is not complete until he returns to the ground. So, is it a touchback or does the ball go back to the 2, per the momentum rule? :)

Good one, Bob! ;)

jrfath Thu Aug 11, 2005 11:20am

NFHS - Touchback. Possession does not start till a foot hits the ground since R1 recovered the ball in the air. First touch is in end zone.
See Case Book play 6.3.1 Situation A

BktBallRef Thu Aug 11, 2005 02:13pm

I agree but I didn't want to spoil the fun. I brushed up on that rule after I missed a question about a similiar play regarding an onside kick.

JugglingReferee Thu Aug 11, 2005 02:30pm

Canadian Rulings
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Bob M.
Alright...enough about illegal substitution, illegal participation, non-player fouls, etc. How about this one?

<b>PLAY:</b> K1's punt is over receiver R1's head. It bounces at R's 3. R1 retreating to field the punt, grasps the grounded kick while airborne above his 2-yardline. His momentum carries him across his goal line. He first returns to the ground in his endzone where he falls to the ground. <b>RULING:</b> ??

NCAA and Federation rulings welcome. Oh...and CFL ruling also.

Amateur:

If a player obtains possession of the ball in the field of play, and in the judgment of the official, the player's momentum carries the player into the end zone, possession is deemed to have occured in the end zone. Since the player went to the ground, we have a rouge scored. Team B 1D/10 at B-35.

Professoinal:

If a player obtains possession of the ball in the field of play, and in the judgment of the official, the player's momentum carries the player into the end zone, possession is deemed to have occured in the end zone.

3.2.4, Paragraph 3. CFL rulebook: http://www.cfl.ca/themes/cfl1/05rulebook.pdf

The Roamin' Umpire Fri Aug 12, 2005 09:19am

Well... I believe we're looking at a touchback in both cases. I'm more certain of the Fed ruling, so let's start with that:
<ol><li>The kick does not end until caught or recovered, or the ball becomes dead.
<li>Catch/recovery does not happen until player touches the ground inbounds.
<li>Points 1 & 2 mean the ball is still a kick while the player is in midair.
<li>The ball becomes dead resulting in a touchback when any kick breaks the plane of R's goal line.
<li>Points 3 & 4 mean that the receiver <i>doesn't even have to land</i> - it's a touchback as soon as he crosses the goal line.</ol>
Now for NCAA...
<ol><li>First three points above are still valid.
<li>BUT - since the ball has touched the ground, it is possible for the receiver to impart new impetus. This will be in the judgement of the covering official. From the play description, the ball is bounding towards the end zone (hit at the 3, collected at the 2), so no new impetus here.
<li>Ball would be live if player had kept his feet. Since he did not, the ball is dead in the end zone. As the kicking team is responsible, this is a touchback.</ol>
Good question!

cowbyfan1 Sat Aug 13, 2005 04:11am

I agree, touchback.

Bob M. Mon Aug 15, 2005 07:04am

REPLY: Roamin' Umpire...I agree wholeheartedly with your Fed ruling, but not with your NCAA ruling. You might want to review impetus again.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:28am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1